I'm a total newbie; a matter of fact my 8310 Curve hasn't even arrived yet. Is there anything that I can do to my BB before I notify my IT dept. to hook up my BB to their servers? I want to be able to sync my BB to my personal PC and not just my corporate PC. Not doing anything unethical, just want to be able to sync my work calendar & contacts to my personal calendar & contacts. Should I do anything before my IT dept hits my BB for the 1st time?
    02-16-08 04:35 PM
    Yes, install all the applications your want. Like Viigo, Yahoo messenger, GTalk, etc, etc...

Once it's on the BES server, you have to abide by the server rules. Having said that, some servers are set to not allow said applications to 'connect'...
    02-16-08 04:44 PM
    I would recommend checking with your IT dept to find out what they restrict first.

As for syncing with your personal PC, any PIM function that you choose to sync via the Desktop Software cannot be synced wirelessly with BES, and vice versa. So, if you want to sync the addres book with you personal PC you need to stop syncing it wirelessly with BES and sync it to both you office and personal PC through the Desktop Software. Before doing this you'll want to make sure you can install the Desktop Software on your office PC and also whether the security policy pushed down by BES will even let you do this.

Another thing to keep in mind. If you don't sync the calendar wirelessly then you will not be able to accpet or deline calendar items that are emailed to you on the device. They will just appear as a message. You'll have to go back to you office PC to accept them and have them applied to your calendar.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-16-08 09:29 PM
    I can't install any software on the office PC and my usage agreement says that all data on my BB will deleted once I connect it to the BES. It looks like my IT dept's overprotective policies will curb my productivity yet again!
    02-18-08 10:23 AM