Everyone,

Newbie here, i installed configured added user to BES 4xx and that was it. Didnt log back in for 3 months. Now the company wants me to log back in again and block all the employees from using the GPS. :|

so anyways, i have tried googling on how to block some apps from BES but really couldnt find anything good. Thought i should give it a try here as may be one of you may have encountered the same issue.

All i want to do is push the policy that no one can use GPS.
    easy to ask but probably hard to do?

thanks for your time,
    user.name
    03-14-08 08:36 PM
    What model are the BlackBerry devices in use, and do they have built-in GPS receivers?

Is there a particular GPS application they're using, or does it vary?

I'm no BES expert, but as I understand it, clients can be limited to use only "approved" applications, as set by the Administrator... I also understand that the Administrator can add and remove applications remotely (wirelessly).

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-14-08 11:57 PM
    Why would they want to take such a great tool away. Revolt!

03-15-08 07:15 AM
    Doesn't make much sense does it
    03-15-08 08:25 AM
    That's one sick, twisted plan...
    03-15-08 12:04 PM
    all of them are using the built in GPS. They all have built in GPS recievers.

I see the BesAdmin power but if you dont know how to use it, its useless.

Well sometime you have to make these decisions when the phones are being purchased from the you, the data packages and all the calls are also being paid by the you for all the employees and when you see a bill that shows half of the users have used GPS that has increased the phone bill 3-4 times the actual cost. ouch?

i would be pissed if i am the president of the company.

Anwyays, my question was the find out if anyone of you knows? but i guess now. I think most of the people in here are users and not admins.

If any admin, reads the post and has suggestions, please feel free...