Hello all from the heart of the USA !

Sorry about the long first post, but could use a little help....

I'm fairly new to this whole 'smartphone' thing. I had a trusty Sanyo scp-5500 for 6+ yrs prior and now I've had a Curve 8530 (on Sprint) for ~ 9 months.....I'm hoping to be enlightened!

This is my second unit. My first had some RF fault that caused many, many dropped calls until Sprint finally acknowledged the issue. They graciously sent me a refurb'd unit to replace my new one & it took several frustrating hour$ (& several tech ph calls) to xfer all of my old data & get it going. Well, most of it. This one doesn't drop calls, but spontaneously reboots ~ 1/wk & the battery only lasts a few hrs igf its being used. I've given up on any resolution from Sprint..they'd prolly send one even worse than this one...fresh off of Craigslist...

I can get/make/send emails (multiple accounts with the mangled version of my Outlook contacts that the BB Desktop mgr created) and the calender usually picks up meeting invites in emails, but that's all I've used (or trusted) it for other than basic phone ops.

Web browsing and other online activities are painfully slow...even when using a WiFi cnct. Reminds me of the dial-up days. 30+ secs to load a simple HTML page (on WiFi) ? C'mon.

I don't do FaceBook or any of those sites, and don't do any chat other than responding to someone who has SMS'd me. (Seriously, who could hold a timely technical chat convo using those tiny keys?? - a ph call would be wayyy quicker) A lot of BB Apps seem to be geared toward the twitter/FB/chat crowd. These, along with 'convenience' apps like weather or maps, or entertainment stuff makes up the vast majority of apps.

BBs seem to be popular business tools, but it also seems that unless you have a corporate issued BB with a whole BB server/support staff behind it (I don't), you're out in the wind as far as sophisticated, integrated, & timely communications.