I am really new to the blackberry. I've recently started running and I like to run outside so I was going to buy a gps watch to track my routes. However I figured I could save some money since my blackberry has built in GPS. I already have a really good heart monitor so I'd like to just use my phone for the route tracking and my watch for the heart monitor.

I've searched for apps and keep hitting a wall because I have verizon service which apparently locks down it's gps to 3rd party apps. The only one I've tried is Sanoodi. I have VZ navigator and I've tried leaving my VZNav on & starting Sanoodi to no avail. Switching my service is not an option, so can someone suggest a solution to my problem that does not involve purchasing a gps watch. I've seen a few posts on external gps, but I don't know if I need that or if there's some other solution.
    05-22-09 10:09 AM
    I was wondering myself if Verizon Navigator could do what you ask. I tried to use the follow me map function but it I couldn't get it to act as an odometer for my hike. It did tell me how fast I was walking though.

The problem with the GPS based apps for BB is that chances are the full features do not work for Verizon customers because Verizon locks out GPS execept for BB Maps and Storm users who can use Google maps. I wish Crackberry would make a disclaimer in their app store for Verizon customers who purchase GPS based apps. Otherwise, buyers should use the free trials before purchasing the apps.
    05-22-09 10:16 AM
    I was wondering myself if Verizon Navigator could do what you ask. I tried to use the follow me map function but it I couldn't get it to act as an odometer for my hike. It did tell me how fast I was walking though.
    I tried that too. You would think VZW would at least sell an application like this if they are going to cripple 3rd party apps.