Kind of a silly topic, but I'm a newbie so bear with me...

I notice that a lot of people make their PIN public on CB and I was wondering if I should do the same. What is the advantage of this? I feel like it would be strange to message someone I don't know/recieve messages from someone I don't know.

I know it is a personal decision and I have the choice not to make my PIN public, but since so many people do I would assume there would be an advantage in doing so.
    12-12-08 03:11 AM
    I mean its a risk, most people use it to make friends, but with that comes the handful of "others". Its really just a personal choice for you, how comfortable you are with talking to a complete stranger

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-12-08 03:16 AM
    Agreed. It depends on your comfort level with getting messages from strangers.

12-12-08 03:27 AM
    I have to agree with you fclensy, when I first got here I was thinking "why would I want anyone on here messaging me on my phone!?" So I keep it private. I've posted here and there in a forum post so the chances of everyone seeing it is much less than anyone looking in my profile or signature.
    With that being said, I don't think I've ever gotten a request once from anyone on this site on BBM. I had a girl PM me once, but that was it.

What I do is say, if you want my PIN, PM me and we'll discuss it.

There is no harm though in posting it publicly. It can't be used to hack your device or be used in any fraudulent manner or anything. It's essentially a decision based on whether or not you want random people requesting you to be "friends" on BBM.
    12-12-08 04:23 AM
    i haven't had any trouble with my pin being posted and i haven't heard of any one else having trouble. now since i said that i may get a crack pot. we can't tell you what to do its how you feel about it and if you want to try it for a while to see how it goes then give it a chance.
    12-12-08 06:06 AM