Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 70
Like Tree43Likes
  1. Kelvin Pham's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    12 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default [Update] Solution to get Google Map v4.5.3 back to work after upgrade to new OS

    Finally i've founded way to get my Google Map back to work.

    Simply use the Google Map version 3 and you can forget about the stupid "Terms & Conditions" step.

    Cheers

    Link for download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i8w6jymjdv...ogleMap-v3.zip

    [Update] Even better news: after first successful run of v3 you can update to v4.5.3 and it'll get back to work normally .

    OTA link: http://dl.google.com/dl/mobile/maps/BlackBerry-47/GoogleMaps.jad
    Last edited by Kelvin Pham; 12-14-2012 at 07:22 PM.
    Thanked by 27:
    + Show/Hide list of the thanked
    00stryder (12-15-2012),  bimmerdriver (12-15-2012),  bintaro_gw (12-16-2012),  charlielefaux (12-15-2012),  csantoss (12-17-2012),  dataphry (12-15-2012),  deltact (12-15-2012),  dimm0k (12-14-2012),  DrBit2011 (12-14-2012),  hytran (12-16-2012),  JC61 (12-15-2012),  lowest (12-14-2012),  lycafe (12-15-2012),  manxdriver (12-18-2012),  marcho11 (12-14-2012),  Mi.key (12-15-2012),  mithrazor (12-15-2012),  OmarVlogable (12-15-2012),  phamgiahoa (12-15-2012),  PiotrJot (12-16-2012),  Postfuhramt (12-16-2012),  qbnkelt (12-16-2012),  ritesh (12-16-2012),  deezy87 (12-14-2012),  tdchung (12-17-2012),  Tuan Vu (07-20-2013),  world traveler and former ceo (05-02-2013) 
  2. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,273 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,280 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #2  

    Default

    that works for me.... cheers
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
  3. #3  

    Default

    Gone for me. Google can take their app and lack of BB support and insert both into any dark orifice. As much as possible my functions are being managed by less intrusive operators that spare me the Google invasion.
    Thanked by 2:
    2c (02-15-2013),  DrBit2011 (12-14-2012) 
  4. kraski's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,608 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,262 Global Posts
    PIN
    PINned to The Shepherd!
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sedalia066 View Post
    Gone for me. Google can take their app and lack of BB support and insert both into any dark orifice. As much as possible my functions are being managed by less intrusive operators that spare me the Google invasion.
    Or maybe they're already refining BB10 versions, leaving behind what will soon rapidly become legacy OSes. Google had already announced ceasing support for present BB OSes as of 9/12. They actually gave us a couple of extra months.
    More thoughts at Bill's Spiritual Musings. http://www.bills-musings.com
  5. Bold_until_Hybrid_Comes's Avatar
    Waterloo's Finest

    Posts
    5,609 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,638 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    I love when the thread title just tells it like it is lol
    Ray UM likes this.
  6. belfastdispatcher's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    13,970 Posts
    PIN
    27F48177
    #6  

    Default

    I gave up on Google Maps long time ago, BB Maps are better then people think.
    Jake Storm likes this.
  7. peteygrizz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    208 Posts
    Global Posts
    218 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Anyone have an OTA link for this? BB Maps is worthless, it never finds what I am looking for and often suggests results thousands of miles away.
    HTC One Mini and Blackberry Playbook 64GB
  8. MADBRADNYC's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,691 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    LoL @ v3.
    You know how long it took before we even got to v4.5.3?!
    If this is permanent, GMaps has only as long as it takes to keep running until a new OS after .794 drops for my device.
    MY TAKE ON THE Z10... I DON'T KNOW HOW, OR WHY, BUT IT WORKS!!!
  9. lowest's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    36 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    I pass TC with v3 and update to v4.5.3....It works!!!!
    Thanked by:
    marcho11 (12-14-2012) 
  10. angelovely's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Thanks lowest!!! Worked for me too!!
  11. marcho11's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    209 Posts
    Global Posts
    211 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Hah!!!! Got it back working. Screw you Google and your "Do No Evil."

    In the mean time, I'm gonna start using BB Maps and BB Traffic so that I get used to them. That way, I can just get rid of google maps (someday) . Oh yeah, and I won't change my OS until then.

    Big shout out thanks to "Kelvin Pham" and "lowest" for then info and links.
  12. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Cheers Kelvin... worked perfectly
    • That's Phill… with 2 L's
  13. lowest's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    36 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by angelovely View Post
    Thanks lowest!!! Worked for me too!!
    I just follow Kelvin's [updated] instruction! Cheers Kelvin!
    Last edited by lowest; 12-14-2012 at 10:07 PM.
  14. tdawg00's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    231 Posts
    Global Posts
    351 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Why are people mad that Google maps doesnt work on the legacy platform? Everyone is suppose to be moving to the new BB10 right? Its not even the same user experience on the current BB compared to Android or Apple. Its only a matter of time before RIM stops supporting legacy apps as well. Or is it called progression when RIM does it? IJS
  15. BB_Bmore's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,843 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,862 Global Posts
    PIN
    excepting applications
    #15  

    Default I've got Google Map back on my BB after upgrade to new OS

    Because #1 some people have a different perception than you and #2 some people had routes addresses etc saved on Gmaps and used it daily. That wouldn't make you mad if your go to mapping application just up and stopped working?

    Glad to see there is a work around. I had a good bit of helpful data accumulated over the years with Gmaps. Thanks guys!

    Sent from my BlackBerry by Choice using Tapatalk
    I waited...It launched...Im still waiting...
    melb_me likes this.
  16. maddog333's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    15 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Works perfectly! I tried load 3.0.1 first, accepted TC, OTA 4.5.3, all works perfectly now.
  17. balubadan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Thanks a lot. It really helped me reinstall the google maps latest version.
  18. Saiga's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,037 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,194 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    I can't believe this is such an issue for people. In my opinion, Google maps on BlackBerry has always sucked. Like the poster above said, it doesn't even look, feel or work like Google maps on any of the other platforms. It just meh. I'd rather use BlackBerry traffic than Google maps to be honest.

    All of Google's BlackBerry apps that I use have always sucked. Anyone that uses Google voice knows what I mean. The SMS doesn't even have push. Its kinda sad but Google never seemed to try to very hard to please BlackBerry users. Hopefully that changes with BB10.
    Jake Storm likes this.
  19. bimmerdriver's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    518 Posts
    Global Posts
    537 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Worked for me. Thanks very much.
    Samsung Galaxy S5
  20. dataphry's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    53 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelvin Pham View Post
    Finally i've founded way to get my Google Map back to work.

    Simply use the Google Map version 3 and you can forget about the stupid "Terms & Conditions" step.

    Cheers

    Link for download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i8w6jymjdv...ogleMap-v3.zip

    [Update] Even better news: after first successful run of v3 you can update to v4.5.3 and it'll get back to work normally .

    OTA link: http://dl.google.com/dl/mobile/maps/...GoogleMaps.jad
    I've got Google Map back on my BB after upgrade to new OS-trippy.gif Thanks , you ROCK !!! , Works perfect Click image for larger version. 

Name:	trippy.gif 
Views:	878 
Size:	8.4 KB 
ID:	128355
    9900 + .746(Rogers) .794(China Unicom) + .714(fat sfi) + BlReturnsV3 + RC10
    Thanked by:
    manxdriver (12-15-2012) 
    manxdriver and CandyLV like this.
  21. dataphry's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    53 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Saiga View Post
    I can't believe this is such an issue for people. In my opinion, Google maps on BlackBerry has always sucked. Like the poster above said, it doesn't even look, feel or work like Google maps on any of the other platforms. It just meh. I'd rather use BlackBerry traffic than Google maps to be honest.

    All of Google's BlackBerry apps that I use have always sucked. Anyone that uses Google voice knows what I mean. The SMS doesn't even have push. Its kinda sad but Google never seemed to try to very hard to please BlackBerry users. Hopefully that changes with BB10.
    I disagree , google maps is essential for many countries which BB maps and BB traffic fail to cover, both of them are extremely limited.
    9900 + .746(Rogers) .794(China Unicom) + .714(fat sfi) + BlReturnsV3 + RC10
    Thanked by:
    Saiga (12-15-2012) 
    Qaxl, Saiga and CandyLV like this.
  22. bimmerdriver's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    518 Posts
    Global Posts
    537 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tdawg00 View Post
    Why are people mad that Google maps doesnt work on the legacy platform? Everyone is suppose to be moving to the new BB10 right? Its not even the same user experience on the current BB compared to Android or Apple. Its only a matter of time before RIM stops supporting legacy apps as well. Or is it called progression when RIM does it? IJS
    We are mad because it was working before they broke it. Holding off on enhancements is one thing, intentionally breaking something that was working is something else altogether. Like others said, so 'FING much for google's "do no harm". Right.
    Samsung Galaxy S5
  23. Saiga's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,037 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,194 Global Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dataphry View Post
    I disagree , google maps is essential for many countries which BB maps and BB traffic fail to cover, both of them are extremely limited.
    Good point, I never considered that.
  24. joeldf's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,589 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    BB Maps also doesn't have satellite view or traffic overlay showing you at a glance where traffic is slow and where accidents or road work are.
    ___________________

    Joel
  25. manxdriver's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    #25  

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by lowest View Post
    I pass TC with v3 and update to v4.5.3....It works!!!!
    What phone and OS do you have? I have a 9900 with 7.1.0.284, and I installed v3 (got Exception Error) then updated to v4.5.3. NO LUCK!
    U P D A T E..... Now it works! I first went in and totally deleted Google Maps from my 9909, and when I installed v3, it worked! For now, I am not even going to try and go to v4.5.3 -- I'm happy with v3!! MANY THANKS!!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by manxdriver; 12-15-2012 at 01:34 PM.
    Thanked by:
    owadkelly (12-16-2012) 
    dataphry likes this.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. I stop getting emails on my BB after a day
    By mohammedj53 in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-16-2012, 01:14 PM
  2. Google Maps works on my 9530
    By Spuds93 in forum Telus Canada
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 06:12 PM
  3. How do I get browser back on my Curve after wipe handheld?
    By asteria in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 06:06 PM
  4. get email back on my bb
    By vergo in forum BlackBerry 87xx Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 11:30 AM
  5. I FINALLY got data put back on my phone...
    By xbellendaine in forum BlackBerry Pearl 8100
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 08:41 PM

Posting Permissions