I'm new to the smart phone scene, and just purchased my first Blackberry. I was offered the insurance coverage from Verizon, but I'm not sure if I should get it. As I understand the policy, in the event that my phone needs to be replaced, I would receive a refurbished phone (not new). $6 or $7 would be tacked onto my bill each month, and I'd have to pay $85 for each claim. If that's the case, am I better off just picking up a refurbished online somewhere (eBay, etc.), or should I get the insurance. I guess I'm curious as to what would be more cost efficient. Thanks in advance for your responses.
    07-13-09 11:00 AM
    It is no secret, optional insurance it a revenue generator for the carrier. They will come out ahead in the long run.

If you compare the cost of a typical light used/refurbished model, with shipping, it will cost a lot more then a years insurance plus the claim.

On the other hand, the convenience of doing a carrier exchange under the insurance policy has a lot to say for itself.

Referbished usually means the phone has been returned in the past, the internal parts are tested and reassembled in a new case. It is the equivalent of a new phone.
    07-13-09 11:08 AM
    I just had to use my insurance for one of the phones on my plan with Alltel. I pay $7 a month for the insurance. On the smart phones, I have a $95 deductible. I called in and was able to negotiate the deductable. They put a credit on my account for the $95 and my wife walked out with a brand new phone. She went from an 8130 pearl to an 8330 Curve. There was a deal on the Curve's so we actually ended up with $45 net credit to our account (after the mail in rebate).

This was the first time I've had to use the insurance plan in the 5+ years that I had it. So, in the end, it's like any other insurance. You will never come out ahead of the carrier. But when stuff happens, it's nice to have.