Im a student at Penn State University (I am revealing my school just in case I have a fellow PSUer who could answer this, not to brag on how our football team is kicking ...) and I am thinking of getting the 8320 when it comes out for ATT. Since this has wifi, and I am almost always connected to a wifi hotspot, would it be worth getting a data plan? On my current little dumbphone I have a gmail client which i use multiple times every day to check my emails and I still remain under 5 mb a month (so says my statement-- i dont get emailed all to often). Does BB ping the email servers to get push email? If this is the case then will my data shoot up as opposed to me hitting the refresh button on my little dumbphone? Sorry if this is in the wrong place :P

Sauce
    Last edited by Reed McLay; 10-06-08 at 10:40 AM. Reason: Language, keep it family friendly.
    10-06-08 12:59 AM
    I may be wrong but the only way you get push email is if you get the blackberry data plan AKA BIS, on wifi I dont believe it will push you any emails, and I dont believe you will be charged any data for wifi use.......but i may be totally wrong as i not a att customer

Although I never attended PSU, I did get accepted but had to stay closer to home
    10-06-08 01:06 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Pushed email means the servers at Research in Motion will instantly forward your email without any action on your part. It should not impact your data use.

Wifi only is an option. The only application that will use it is Browser.

I use my 8320 Curve that way and it works much as you describe. Checking for email requires a refresh of the page. It works acceptably well, but the critical thing is, it only works with Browser. None of the installed applications that use data, are able use Wifi with out BIS.

That also applies to third party applications, including most of the ones that do not use data. They still need the infrastructure of BIS for registration.

10-06-08 10:39 AM