Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. jadebear's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Help: Stolen phone, not sure if I can transfer any data

    My phone was stolen yesterday, and my business pretty much runs off of it. Rogers (I'm in Canada) blocked the phone immediately, so the thief can't get into it.

    I had Blackberry Protect installed, but I have no idea how to access that data and install it onto a new phone. BlackBerry Protect doesn't allow me to remotely link anything, so I have a feeling that app is useless. When I load up the Blackberry Protect page, it says "To add a device to this account, load the BlackBerry Protect Application onto your device from the BlackBerry AppWorld." Well, I already have the app on my phone, and it's been backing information up SOMEWHERE, but I don't know where or how to get at it.

    Once I do (hopefully) access that data, how do I go about installing it onto another phone? Does that new phone have to be a Blackberry?

    Help
  2. dangerousfen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,125 Posts
    PIN
    That's for me to know and you to guess!
    #2  

    Default Re: Help: Stolen phone, not sure if I can transfer any data

    Yes, it has to be a Blackberry phone. Load BB Protect on your new BB and run it. Enter your BB ID then once. accepted, it will prompt a restore. Go for it. I've done it several times with replacement phones and it works a treat.

    Alan.
    Do as you would be done by and 12 pence to the shilling (or 100 cents to the dollar).

    Into every life a little ale must pour
  3. Ray III's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    363 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    The BlackBerry Protect website is where the data is stored (if you have the app on your phone and it made a backup). Maybe the carrier had the phone dropped from your account, but the backup should be out there somewhere.

    Pictures and other saved items reside on the micro SD card in the phone; if you don't have a copy saved to your computer, they're gone.
  4. DisturbedRocks31's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    617 Posts
    Global Posts
    619 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Just wondering, can the thief just wipe the data by entering an incorrect password 10 times and start using it normally?
  5. dangerousfen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,125 Posts
    PIN
    That's for me to know and you to guess!
    #5  

    Default Re: Help: Stolen phone, not sure if I can transfer any data

    Quote Originally Posted by DisturbedRocks31 View Post
    Just wondering, can the thief just wipe the data by entering an incorrect password 10 times and start using it normally?
    No. Once the 10 attemps have been made it will lock out
    Do as you would be done by and 12 pence to the shilling (or 100 cents to the dollar).

    Into every life a little ale must pour
  6. Xopher's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,053 Posts
    Global Posts
    4,723 Global Posts
    PIN
    BBM & Kik (ask)
    #6  

    Default Re: Help: Stolen phone, not sure if I can transfer any data

    Quote Originally Posted by DisturbedRocks31 View Post
    Just wondering, can the thief just wipe the data by entering an incorrect password 10 times and start using it normally?
    Yes, and no.

    Entering the password incorrectly ten times will wipe the phone, which will reset it back to like-new. So the thief who stole it could put a different SIM in and start using it.

    You can do things to thwart that. Once you replace the SIM, the old one should be deactivated. If you're on a CDMA carrier, they can lock the MEID so it can't be reactivated again. You can also report the phone stolen to your carrier and they can have RIM lock out the PIN.
    RuneCryption - Unique memory game for PlayBook & BB10, now "Built for BlackBerry".
  7. fernandez21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,110 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    I've always wondered why more companies don't do complete back ups like apple does. If I restore on my iPhone, I get all my data restored including pictures, music, call logs, text messages, contacts, apps, even app data like saved games. The only one close was webOS, but that wouldn't do pictures or music, but would everything else.

    Does anyone know how BB10 will handle back ups?
    all smartphones are tools.
    android = 48pc tool set (you"ll eventually find the tool you need, but some assembly required)
    iphone = swiss army knife (most of the tools you need in a small, simple to use package)
    blackberry = adjustable wrench (sometimes all you need is a wrench)
    windows phone = bionic wrench (its different....but it works)
  8. FunktasticLucky's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    777 Posts
    Global Posts
    780 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    because the iPhone doesn't have micro SD... I can back everything up using desktop manager. Which I normally do.
  9. fernandez21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    302 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,110 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FunktasticLucky View Post
    because the iPhone doesn't have micro SD... I can back everything up using desktop manager. Which I normally do.
    But how does that help with a situation such as the OP's? I would much rather all my info backed up to the cloud or my computer instead of a local SD card.
    all smartphones are tools.
    android = 48pc tool set (you"ll eventually find the tool you need, but some assembly required)
    iphone = swiss army knife (most of the tools you need in a small, simple to use package)
    blackberry = adjustable wrench (sometimes all you need is a wrench)
    windows phone = bionic wrench (its different....but it works)
  10. jadebear's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Thank you all for your input. I ended up just importing as many contacts as I could from my gmail and facebook, and opting to get an Android. The Blackberry backup system is incredibly frustrating for me, and not particularly user-friendly. That said, I am notoriously tech un-savvy, so maybe I just need a slightly simpler tool.

Similar Threads

  1. Help needed, not sure if this is an OS issue
    By slott in forum Storm OS Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 09:04 PM
  2. Please help!..I need to know if I can save my phone!!!
    By alyssahorvath in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2009, 02:01 PM
  3. Please help me....App error 523...Not sure if Sprint did it or not
    By April Archambeau in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 11:39 PM
  4. Please help me....App error 523...Not sure if Sprint did it or not
    By April Archambeau in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 11:39 PM
  5. help !!!!! What is set up wizard...Im not sure if its working
    By gp1200r2000 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 09:13 PM

Posting Permissions