The IT department at work (I'm a teacher) does not want to help me link my school/work email to my blackberry. I had no trouble setting up my email accounts from aol and even my university (student) email. I can not get the email from my employer linked. Any suggestions?

Please help!
    03-06-09 08:34 AM
    Assuming this is a BIS issue, how is your work email handled? Do they use MS Outlook and MS exchange server? If so, can you use Outlook Web Access from a PC to see your email? If all of the foregoing is true, then you should be able to set up the email account in BIS. If not, more information will be required.
    03-06-09 08:39 AM
    See if this helps you out - if it does the credit goes CB member "Signlnco"

You can set up a rule in outlook to have your messages sent to your blackberry. I am doing so from my work computer. Here are the steps for adding a rule on Outlook 2003 (Outlook 2000 does not support auto forwarding).

Before you start, make sure you add your blackberry e-mail address to either your contacts folder or your personal address book.

1. In Outlook 2003, go to tools, rules and alerts wizard.
    2. On the e-mail rules tab, select new rule.
    3. Select "Start from a blank rule"
    4. Select "check messages when they arrive" click next
    5. Click Next and select Yes when the warning comes up that says this rule will apply to all messages.
    6. Check "forward to people or distribution list"
    7. In botton window, double click the highlighed "forward to poeple and Distribution list" and select you Blackberry e-mail address.
    8. Then click "finish"

On your blackberry:

Go to setup e-mail and create an icon on your screen for your blackberry e-mail address.

All of your forwarded e-mails from work will show up in this folder.

Good luck. It will work if you are using MS Outlook 2003 or higher.
    03-06-09 08:46 AM