Sorry if this is the wrong section.

On friday night i was out on the lash and lost my bb curve. It was not a contract phone and was a pay as you go, Its insured etc but can i get the phone blocked so nobody can use it? Seen something about EMI number being blocked but never really understood it.

Any ideas if this can be done or if they have the phone unlocked as its only tied to one carrier they can continue to use it?
    04-20-11 06:40 AM
    I'm assuming you didn't have BB Protect or any similar app on your device. If that's true, I think the best you can do is report it to whoever you are on pay-as-you-go with, and see what they can do about it.
    04-20-11 06:42 AM
    I'm assuming you didn't have BB Protect or any similar app on your device. If that's true, I think the best you can do is report it to whoever you are on pay-as-you-go with, and see what they can do about it.
    Could that app not be easily deleted with removal of sim? Im not very technical minded so excuse the questions lol.

I have contacted my provider but they were mentioning something about the EMI number.
    04-20-11 06:48 AM
    Like McStoner said you should probably call the pay as you go provider and let them know. And if you were using BB Protect or Smrtguard you'd probably be able to track the device otherwise your kinda assed out. Good luck bud
    04-20-11 06:50 AM
    It could be deleted just by finding it in your apps, and uninstalling it. Which is why I think they should password protect BB Protect from being deleted.

Although it can be deleted, lots of people might not know about it, or what it can do.
    That's good that you contacted them, but they should just be able to deactivate your account, or transfer your info to a different phone. If you are with a provider that has you manage your own account online, try going into your account settings on that site and see if you can do anything useful from there.
    dave1872 likes this.
    04-20-11 06:52 AM