CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Getting a cheap OS7 BB on ATT contract...entirely crazy?

Hello all,

Long story short, I've currently got a WebOS device on its last legs...it needs replacing ASAP. I'm a student on an extremely limited budget, but happily, I'm eligible for an ATT contract upgrade. Realistically, my budget is $50+tax/fees, max. It's either going to be a WP8 device (the Lumia 820 looks like a likely pick) or a Blackberry. Realistically, that leaves me with a non-high-end (Refurb?) Blackberry (think 9810 or 9860, probably)...and yes, using that device for two years. Recognizing this is a BB forum, am I really better off moving over to the new, likely-to-be-supported-in-2-years WP8 platform, or jumping on the tail end of BB7, given the ~2 year lifespan ahead of me?

My primary uses are email/SMS, with light calling/photography. I'm really not a heavy smartphone user.

Thanks for your input.
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

PIN
    27F48177

Quote Originally Posted by silly_sysiphus View Post
    Hello all,

Long story short, I've currently got a WebOS device on its last legs...it needs replacing ASAP. I'm a student on an extremely limited budget, but happily, I'm eligible for an ATT contract upgrade. Realistically, my budget is $50+tax/fees, max. It's either going to be a WP8 device (the Lumia 820 looks like a likely pick) or a Blackberry. Realistically, that leaves me with a non-high-end (Refurb?) Blackberry (think 9810 or 9860, probably)...and yes, using that device for two years. Recognizing this is a BB forum, am I really better off moving over to the new, likely-to-be-supported-in-2-years WP8 platform, or jumping on the tail end of BB7, given the ~2 year lifespan ahead of me?

My primary uses are email/SMS, with light calling/photography. I'm really not a heavy smartphone user.

Thanks for your input.