First of all, as a disclaimer I would like to state I am no expert at anything and likely I am off in left field. Also, I happen to think the Z10 & Q10 are fine devices and I wish I had one (using Iphones at work).

But cruising and lurking around these boards and with the benefit of being a bit older I can see a pattern developing which other fine companies fell victims to.

For example, many posts focus on the Z10 Vs (enter the other brand here) and specs are compared ad nauseam. As if the future of Blackberry depends on having a superior product. Nothing is further from the truth.

Remember Dr DOS & Novell DOS? Far superior than MS DOS... yet who won?

How about WordStar, AMI Pro, Word Perfect? In their heyday much better than Office. Same could be said for Lotus 1-2-3, Quattro Pro etc...

Now here�s a challenge... GeoWorks was by far a better windowing system (multi-tasking) than Windows 3.0 & 3.1. Where are they now?

The same could be said on the hardware side, but you get the drift...

The point? Superior hardware & software do not win the day... Marketing does.

Look at Apple, they make fine devices. Not necessarily the best devices across the board but consistently good. However, they really pour on the marketing to make users believe their devices are worth 50% more than anyone else and should be upgraded once a year. That�s a gross over exaggeration but you get the drift.

Blackberry has shown it has no marketing wherewithal compared to the big boys. Besides they are a �one trick pony�. Ie. Cell phones only (I know other services as well but that�s going down). HTC apparently make fine phones as well but they are not doing well either.

So, my take on it is if Blackberry doesn't do something drastic it will be a relatively short ride into oblivion.