Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 58
Like Tree13Likes
  1. Double_J75's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,330 Posts
    #26  

    Default

    No issues like that on either of my z10's - I have two
  2. BoldtotheMax's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,064 Posts
    #27  

    Default Re: freezing on the Z10

    Kinda a bummer you guys have had to do hard resets. I was Hoping the dreaded freezing issues would be resolved by now. Least they boot up faster.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
  3. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #28  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timmy t View Post
    I thought the micro kernel design was supposed to prevent this type of thing. The app that caused the problem would be killed and the OS would continue on.
    So were we lied to or what?
    If BlackBerry OS 10 provided a means to kill the errant application (kill -9 process_id --> in *nix parlance) you would be right on the money. Unfortunately, there is no kill switch so to speak for naughty BlackBerry OS 10 applications. So we were not lied to about the micro-kernel architecture, nor for a monolithic kernel for that matter, but the user-land capability to trigger a SIG_KILL command results in users sometimes finding it necessary to perform a hard reset (battery pull).
  4. Shanerredflag's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    17,080 Posts
    #29  

    Default

    I had a minor issue today...the e-mail app was not retrieving new e-mails, (PC and PlayBook both got them). Did just a power down...wait 30 seconds then power up (no battery pull) and boom boom boom...emails flying everywhere.
  5. timmy t's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,309 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,312 Global Posts
    #30  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kill_9 View Post
    If BlackBerry OS 10 provided a means to kill the errant application (kill -9 process_id --> in *nix parlance) you would be right on the money. Unfortunately, there is no kill switch so to speak for naughty BlackBerry OS 10 applications. So we were not lied to about the micro-kernel architecture, nor for a monolithic kernel for that matter, but the user-land capability to trigger a SIG_KILL command results in users sometimes finding it necessary to perform a hard reset (battery pull).
    It is supposed to kill the application itself. The senior guys at BlackBerry and QNX say the phones should never have to reboot.
  6. dscsayers's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    69 Posts
    Global Posts
    73 Global Posts
    #31  

    Default

    No freezing here... I did however lose use of the volume rocker requiring a battery pull...
  7. Whitecaps's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    378 Posts
    Global Posts
    380 Global Posts
    #32  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dscsayers View Post
    No freezing here... I did however lose use of the volume rocker requiring a battery pull...
    How could the button not responding??
  8. nocturnal123's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    129 Posts
    #33  

    Default

    Only freeze ups I've had is in certain apps required only one restart. I've had couple occasions where the screen was un responsive but only for a second.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  9. amjass12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,486 Posts
    #34  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by njblackberry View Post
    There are threads (and reports) of the device freezing (on the lock screen or the browser screen) requiring a hard reset.
    Happened to me three times over the weekend. None since then. Has been reported on supportforums.blackberry.com also.
    Have had one freeze from the lock screen after swiping up and no password field would show up. Had to restart then. Also today a few times, when I start typing the first few letters don't register, even though they 'click' and there's a tone for them. Apart from that.. perfect.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  10. whitbags's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    394 Posts
    #35  

    Default

    Two days on the trot, the device has frozen after being in bedside mode, such that the clock app would not minimise. Needed to press the on/off button on one occasion, although today I had to reboot the phone. Earlier today the connections would not connect; phone telling me wifi connected but browser, FB and Twitter just sitting there with the 'clockface' icon going round and round. I know wifi was fine as my laptop was on the same network and was working fine. The phone was also telling me it was connected to 3G. Had to restart the phone, and then a whole bunch of emails and text messages arrived.
  11. Stephen Green's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    101 Posts
    Global Posts
    102 Global Posts
    #36  

    Default

    Zero problems since Tuesday Feb 5!


    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  12. jrobertson73's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    49 Posts
    #37  

    Default

    Still zero freezing issues here

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  13. Snap51's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    229 Posts
    #38  

    Default

    No issues after 10 days.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  14. Kman13's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    232 Posts
    #39  

    Default

    No problems here always on. No freezing

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
  15. web99's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,082 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,093 Global Posts
    #40  

    Default

    I've had my Z10 for 15 days and it has not yet frozen. So for me, zero problems so far.

    Posted using CrackBerry App on BB10
    IPod Touch, IPhone4, IPhone4S, IPad2, 16GB Playbook, 32GB Playbook, Blackberry 9800 Torch, Blackberry Z10, BlackBerry Q10, Samsung Galaxy Note 8' Tablet
  16. Sqoon's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    548 Posts
    #41  

    Default

    I got it on launch day and never had any freezing.
    I have on one occasion gotten lag getting into the settings menu. I mention that because even lag is an extremely rare occasion, freezing would be completely out of the question for me and I would take it back to the carrier.
  17. teezplay's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #42  

    Default

    Had the phone since the 5th and absolutely no problems... no battery pulls or freezing to speak of!

    Posted via my Z10
  18. bekkay's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,186 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,188 Global Posts
    #43  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by independentvolume View Post
    What are you guys new? Just do the famous BlackBerry battery pull.
    Ooops, battery pull and the bullet-proof micro-kernel based QNX. Oxymoron?
    Last edited by bekkay; 02-17-2013 at 05:36 PM.
  19. ECMR's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    36 Posts
    #44  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by giancolap View Post
    is there any mention from those that have had the phone for a week like Kevin on how often the dreaded freezing has occured ?
    Had mine freeze while in BBM video and a phone call came in froze up, and twice the screen changed to half size all required reboot.
  20. Djlatino's Avatar

    Posts
    1,797 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,798 Global Posts
    PIN
    Look at her ****, dios mio
    #45  

    Default

    The only freezing that occurs is when I'm running a sideloaded app that isn't from BB World.
    [Atticus told me to delete the adjectives and I'd have the facts]
  21. Maxey05's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    638 Posts
    Global Posts
    644 Global Posts
    #46  

    Default

    This OS is brand new so of course there will be freeze ups and bugs... I'm sure that's why they still have the removable battery on the Z10..
  22. fxiddy's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    37 Posts
    #47  

    Default

    Same here the screen froze after being in sleep bedside mode. It's done that several times now and I had to do a normal Restart . Also a froze when I was editing contacts a few times. A bit annoying, but hasn't frozen for a few days now.

    Posted via CB10
  23. bekkay's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,186 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,188 Global Posts
    #48  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Maxey05 View Post
    This OS is brand new so of course there will be freeze ups and bugs... I'm sure that's why they still have the removable battery on the Z10..
    But isn't that what everybody has been touting?

    Every now and then, there is a post or an article claiming that QNX by its microkernel nature should not be prone to problems like freezing, and, therefore, it is used in nuclear reactors, by NASA, in planes, etc.
  24. CheasyGZ's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    15 Posts
    #49  

    Default

    It seems the freezing is not universal. I'd say return it and have all your settings transfered to a new device.
  25. bbqkid8's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    645 Posts
    Global Posts
    651 Global Posts
    #50  

    Default Re: freezing on the Z10

    I will chime in here. on maybe the second day of me having the Z10 the orientation screen flipped and froze while in transition. I did a hard reset and it hasn't happened since... it's been a couple of weeks now.

    On a new note, I convinced my friend to buy a Z10 and as I was chatting with her in BBM today she has had her phone freeze on her. she even said there was a blue screen of death, and she is forced to do a hard reset. it has happened a few times tonight, in fact. I told her I will look at it tomorrow... might have to do a factory reset. Odd, cuz I have not heard of a blue screen error anywhere in these forums or in the help forums. If anyone has any ideas, please feel free to cobtribute. I feel that the factory reset will fix things.
    Storm 1 > Bold 9900 > Blackberry Z10!

    Playbook 16gb > 64gb;

    Google Nexus 10
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Will old chargers work on the Z10?
    By jvictor77 in forum BlackBerry 10 Accessories
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 04-21-2013, 08:33 PM
  2. Will OS 7 apps work on the Z10?
    By Ansovald in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-27-2013, 11:50 AM
  3. Image Quality and DPI on the Z10?
    By sreidenb in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-25-2013, 05:38 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-06-2013, 12:17 PM
  5. roxio media freezes on the opening screen
    By ryangarrette72 in forum BBOS Movies / Videos
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-13-2009, 01:27 PM

Posting Permissions