I'm in my third year of BlackBerry ownership and recently upgraded from a Curve 8330 to a Curve 9330 and love it. The extra features (Wi-Fi, memory, speed) have brought me back to being a full time Crackberry Addict.

I am looking for some suggestions of free or open-source apps that people use to backup, maintain and share their data.

You see - I'm a linux user. Full time, whole-house linux. I have very limited access to windows machines and don't want to have to rely on Windows solutions for my needs.

I've used Barry ( netdirect.ca/software/packages/barry ) to backup my phone in case of disaster and I'm using Google Sync to keep my contacts and calendars together, but in both cases there is something to be desired.

Barry's backups are tarred and gzipped (essentially compressed) versions of what's on my phone. Fine for disaster recovery, but not so good for sharing and requires a USB cable connection to operate.

Google Sync is wonderful except that I have to put every new event or appointment into Google Calendar (or send it to Gcal as an SMS) because While things entered into Google get sent to my phone, nothing that I enter on my phone ever gets sent to Google. (I've read a lot of similar reports - nothing seems to help with any consistency - but I can't complain too much, the service is *free* after all)

My fear, of course, is what should happen if I lose my phone or it becomes inoperable? I'd like to have cloud-backups of my contacts (Gsync), calendar (Gsync again), Memos (?), Tasks (?) and bookmarks (?). True - Barry covers all of these items - but I only backup everything maybe once a week (if I remember)

I'm willing to purchase a solution - it doesn't have to be free - but I would want proof or a good review before plunking down some change.