I ran a little experiment with my family with Blackberries. I've been an avid fan since my Pearl 8100 and have used BB since. However my father, mother and sister have used completely different phones. I recently signed up for a family plan and got everyone new Blackberry Torches and decided to see how each one would feel about their new phone. It's been a month and a half, and I've noticed some interesting observations so I thought I'd share.

A little background. I'm a student and business owner. My sister is a corporate type employee who has so far resisted attempts to be assigned a corporate phone because she doesn't want to be connected to work always. My mom is also in corporate, and my dad is nearing retirement. Ages range from 23-60.

My dad:
    Before the Torch, he had the iPhone 3G and liked it. His favourite use for the phone was watching videos on Youtube and tethering to his Netbook. He regretted getting the iPhone and always wanted a Blackberry.

However, a month in and he hates his new phone. I've tried my hardest to try to show him the features around the phone but there are some things I can't overcome. The iPhone Youtube app is unfortuantely better then Blackberry's shortcut. Family BBM isn't too particularly useful since we all have unlimited texting, so it's really neither an advantage or disadvantage for his particular case. After much resistance, I agreed to switch him back to the iPhone and sell his Torch.

As the oldest user, his case was the most interesting. Everyone knows Apple for it's 'experience' rather then cutting edge technology, and in the end, it's what mattered to my dad. I'm hoping that QNX will convert him back to BBs, but for now, I feel it's a lost cause .

Mom
    Probably the least interested in a smart phone in my family. She has started to use BBM and Facebook more and more, and so far she seems happy with her phone. Before the Torch, she had a Motorola Razr (Old I know!).

Sister