Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. I've just bought an unlokced BB Curve 8310 on eBay. It should be with me this Tuesday (I can't wait)! Anyway, I'm currently using a Nokia N95 on Vodafone UK network. I have a few questions about the Curve and BIS on Vodafone:

1) My N95 can retrieve my e-mails (IMAP) via 3G connection without any additional subscription apart from the cost of data transfer. When I receive my BB Curve, will I be able to do the same or I need to subscribe to BIS service?

2) Does BB Map work in the UK and does it require connection to the Internet to receive the map? Is there a way to pre-load the map?

3) The BB is VODAFONE branded, will I be able to install the OS firmware update obtained from other network? (specifically this http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/new...2-194-a-24857/)

4) I am a MacBook Pro user (no BootCamp, no VISTA), what's the best solution for syncing contacts, calendar, notes and to-do tasks?

I apologise if the questions have been answered already many times. I'm just totally new to all of this. Can't wait to become a BB user!

Any help/suggestion will be gratefully appreciated!

----------------

P.S. I was going to wait for the 3G iPhone, however I text a lot (500 a month) so a physical keyboard is something I really want.
    Last edited by skyrider007; 06-08-08 at 05:52 PM.
    06-08-08 05:42 PM
    1. You will need BIS service.
    2. I don't know.
    3. Yes, if you remove the vendor.xml file. However this will not remove the branding. You will need a Windows PC to install/update any BB OS.
    4. Not sure. I don't have a mac.
    06-08-08 05:52 PM
    BB maps should work in U.K. You can get it at BlackBerry - PDA GPS - BlackBerry Maps at BlackBerry.com on your pc and you need a usb cable. To download it.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    06-08-08 05:59 PM
    Hi All,