I have been using my Blackberry for about 7 months and have definitely become addicted to it. I was using it with an email address that I have hosted. Over the past weekend I was unable to send or receive emails via this account. My first step was to talk to Telus, but because it takes about two business days for them to even start looking at the problem I started doing more research. I found that my webhost has blocked Blackberry network's IMAP access.

Has anyone else had issues like this come up? Is there anything else I can do to receive emails on this email address?
    09-17-08 12:48 PM
    Have you contacted the webhost to find out why this may have been done? I have several email accounts that are pushed to my BB, some are webmail accounts and a couple email addresses from my webhost account and fortunately I haven't had an issue.
    09-17-08 01:03 PM
    This is what my host has stated

Blackberry network's IMAP access has been temporarily blocked.
    This was triggered by excessive IMAP connection usage by their network.
    The issue has been reported to them by various users, and hopefully they will resolve the issue.
    We will temporarily lift the block at different times to see if it is still being as aggressive.
    Until then, it will remain blocked so it doesn't causes problem for other users.
    09-17-08 01:17 PM
    use POP or just forward the email to your blackberry account.
    09-18-08 09:09 AM
    The reason why some mail hosts [such as the company I work for] choose to block IMAP connections via BlackBerry is because the RIM servers are... well, a**h*les. Once a BlackBerry opens an IMAP connection via the RIM server that connection does not close until you literally turn off your BlackBerry.

The reason why I just turned off BB access temporarily is that our server has a hard limit of 400 open IMAP connections and around 350 of those were currently in use by RIM IPs, screwing over anyone else using IMAP.