Hi

I am a newbie on the Crackberry forum and I must say I am impressed with the community.

I am considering buying a Blackberry, an 8820 to be specific, but have one concern about e-mail and web access. I do not intend signing up for my carriers BIS or data plans, I pay for data on my current phone (GPRS/EDGE) as I use it. Will I be able to do the same with the BB?
    I know I won't have push e-mail but I'm OK with that. In all the documentation and how-to's I only see mention of BIS and BES, is it possible to set up e-mail accounts that do not use these services? How do I do that? I'd really appreciate it if somebody can help me out or point me to a resource where I can read more about it.

This is the last hurdle between me and the BB, I am really looking forward to getting one, hopefully it can be done.

Cobus
    08-31-08 08:58 AM
    If you want the Blackberry you are going to need a BlackBerry Data plan (BIS or BES). (If you want to surf the web and get email that is. The data plan you are using now is different then the data plan you need for a BlackBerry)

I really don't think there is a way around it even though the 8820 has wi-fi, but hey I don't know everything and someone might come along and prove me wrong
    08-31-08 09:04 AM
    Hi
    ...I do not intend signing up for my carriers BIS or data plans, I pay for data on my current phone (GPRS/EDGE) as I use it. Will I be able to do the same with the BB?
    Just for clarification, the BIS (or BES) plan will include the data. It will not be in addition to your existing data plan. You drop your old data plan and add BIS.
    08-31-08 12:16 PM
    This really sucks!!!

I have a corporate cellular account so cannot just add the Blackberry service to it, IT policy a pain in the ***. Does this mean I cannot use a Blackberry to retrieve my e-mail and connect to the web?