i just got my bb 900 bold and also one for my wife. i was told by at&t that i could use it as a wireless modem for my laptop. i m an over the road truck driver and have a hard time finding those free wifi spots from time to time and thought if i could get that from my bb it would be cool.needless to say at&t told me wrong and wants me to spend an xtra $60 per line a month for a tethering plan.i just cant see it. my dad bought a htc fuse and downloaded a program called "walking hotspot" from a .com website of the same name. they do not cater to bb and i m having trouble finding out someone who knows more about what im looking for. this program he has lets you connect up to 5 computers wirelessly using his phone as a hotspot. does anyone know of a program like this for the bb bold 9000. please excuse the ignorance and bad spelling,like i said im a truck driver.contact me here or at [email protected]
    thanks for the invite into your world and hope to be able to share my stories with everyone.
    05-04-10 09:59 PM
    please excuse the ignorance and bad spelling,like i said im a truck driver
    Ignorance and poor spelling have nothing to do with being a truck driver. That's actually a rather offensive assertion.

Anyhow, now that we have that out of the way, you can go to tether.com and purchase Tether. It is a program that charges a one-time fee and enables you to circumvent your carriers monthly tethering fee. However, you should be aware that this violates ATT's Terms of Service.

This app works great, and I highly recommend it. I know it works well for what you are needing, because I use it, and I, too, am an over the road truck driver.

To answer your other question, there isn't an app that will turn a BlackBerry into a WiFi hotspot. Tether provides access to one pc at a time through a Blackberry, either via bluetooth or usb.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-04-10 11:07 PM