Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Switch13
  • 2 Post By kbz1960
  • 2 Post By TheScionicMan
    CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default A different take on RIM troubles

I'll preface this discussion by saying that I've been a Blackberry user since the pager days - I have a Blackberry, I'm a BES administrator and I work with about 100 devices daily.

So....

There's been a lot of commentary as of late on RIM's fate. RIM's stock price is now solidly in the single digits trading around $9.65.

The question - Is RIM in a death spiral?

Here are things to consider.

1. RIM's stock price is eroding quickly
    2. RIM is forecast to be unprofitable until 2014
    3. RIM is projected to burn though $500m of its $2,500m cushion through the end of this year
    4. RIM's market share (in the US is degrading)
    5. One would say that RIM's current base is solidly business users (in the US)
    6. RIM's strengths are data compression and data security, period.

Here are the issues I see going forward.

Developers - who will spend money on a platform that is split into two OS's (7,10 and now Android). Is losing market share, is mostly business user oriented and has uncertain footing?

Businesses - will they spend money on a whole new infrastructure to support Blackberry Fusion (for Bb 10x devices) since it will not be supported on Bes 5.03. Will businesses be willing to buy licenses for Fusion and 10x devices. Will businesses be better off allowing their users to pick their own handheld and manage those thus paying for one device instead of two in many cases?