Kevinberry, I'm a newbie as well. I needed a device that has rich features and can multitask. Blackberry was a logical solution. Email was a hassle at first and it turned out that I picked that needle from the haystack (defective device) so Verizon gave me a fresh BB Curve and all is well. For me it feels like working on a PC (I'm a Mac person. Besides I do not like AT&T so I didn't get an iPhone and stuck with Verizon and chose the Curve) I not only wanted strong e-mail capabilities but having just one device instead of several on my person at once. It is a true all in one device not as intuitive or elegant as an iPhone but it gets the job done.
    Business class devices like BB's are slowly being integrated into mainstream usage. The is a great choice (Curve) for someone who seeks a little bit of both. I use it for both. Play and work. I chose the Curve simply because I couldn't type on the Pearl. I guess my fingers are too large for the keys and I would rather have a full QWERTY anyway. Though the Pearls form factor I like very much. Battery life is good considering how much the phone can do it also depends if you're a "power user". Mostly I use it for e-mail, calendar, quick note taking, a little internet browsing, address book, a little camera, use it for mapping. The call quality is much better than my old flip phone and it feels better in my hands too. Either way I suggest that you try any BB and see what you think. Ask yourself what you "need" versus what you "want".
    Better yet wait for the Bold or Storm coming out soon. I like the Bold, more powerful, faster and higher res screen, plus cleaner more professional looking OS. But again it is up to you. Curve, Pearl or the 8800. I don' think you can go wrong with any of these fine devices.
    Good Luck.
    J.
    Last edited by BBjaychicago; 08-31-08 at 03:40 PM.
    08-31-08 03:36 PM