I'm a newbie owner of a 7290. I don't get on the Internet, check emails or do anything except make rare phone calls (heresy!). What I wanted was a phone with a few games, eBook capable, and the ability to use a fairly simple document editor with basic italics, bold, underline, justification, size, etc. (just like this posting editor) when I travel several times a year. IOW a tiny computer that also serves as a phone. (Blasphemy!)

First problem - I've tried installing several times, uninstalled, reinstalled, clean installed, etc. (I'm a 25+ yr experienced computer user) the operating and desktop software manager. It does fine for backup/restore, application loader, sync, but the Media Manager can't find the phone. I followed the directions from RIM exactly while on the phone with them to do the installation. Why does the software find the phone for the other utilities but not for Media Manger? What do I need to do to be able to see and transfer things to the phone in file format? The Desktop Manager is the same way, it won't find the phone.

Second problem - I don't want to pay $99.99 for eDesk and all it's bells and whistles when all I want is a simple (preferably free) basic editor. Any suggestions on what and where to find one?

Thanks,
    drkenrich
    12-16-07 05:23 PM
    Well, with as much computer experience as you have, I would think that the name 'Roxio' would have tipped you off to that program's integrity

All kidding aside, I had the same problem. For me, however, it would do a RunDLL error every time I clicked on 'options' menu. Since the device can be set as mass storage, with a flash card installed, I don't really need that software anyway. Just drag and drop.
    12-16-07 05:31 PM