Hi

I am thinking of buying blackbery bold. I would like to know if it's possible to use surf internet, email, msn, and GPS without subscribing to mobile services. I was thinking about using office wifi, and homenetwork -- since these are the only two place I would be needing it. Also can I use two email account -- say office, and my gmail. A\
    10-18-08 05:29 AM
    I had an 8320 (wifi version) before the 8330. As long as you have a good cell service with high speed connectivity, you really don't need the wifi. It's nice, but in real life testing, I found not having wifi to not be an issue. That's my .02 on the topic.

Feed the need. Visit CB frequently.
    10-18-08 06:42 AM
    I have wifi and while never having used it as a stand alone client I believe it does speed up my connection with tmobile. I could be wrong. I'm not an expert.
    10-18-08 06:48 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Wifi is included to support Unlicensed Mobile Access (UMA) with a data plan.

Without the data plan, only the Browser can use Wifi, none of the email or message functions will work.

10-18-08 10:05 AM
    I had an 8320 (wifi version) before the 8330. As long as you have a good cell service with high speed connectivity, you really don't need the wifi. It's nice, but in real life testing, I found not having wifi to not be an issue. That's my .02 on the topic.

Feed the need. Visit CB frequently.
    I believe he/she wants WiFi so he/she doesn't need to pay for a data plan.
    10-18-08 12:18 PM
    I believe he/she wants WiFi so he/she doesn't need to pay for a data plan.
    Yes, I want to use internet, email, mesenger application without paying for a data plan. I take it I can't do that if I don't have a data plan?

That's not good.
    10-19-08 11:02 AM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Wifi is included to support Unlicensed Mobile Access (UMA) with a data plan.

Without the data plan, only the Browser can use Wifi, none of the email or message functions will work.