Hi guys. So I just recently was able to get the wonderful Japanese input available on my Bold with the .216 OS EastAsia. It's great, though of course anyone I send japanese text to can't read it and it just comes up as small white boxes. Would be cool if they could read it. But anyway, that's not the point of this thread.

I have one (1) Japanese friend in my life haha. I live in GA and while there are some Japanese here, most asians here are Korean. Anyway, she is an older adult and she has a phone called an LG Vu? It's with AT&T she says. I don't keep up with mobile news unless it's blackberry (and I just now recently started keeping up with that news).

I am a beginner of Japanese and she loves to sort of help me along and she wants very badly to be able to not only read my Japanese texts on her phone, but also to have Japanese input on her phone as well to send to me.

I am 100% new to Japanese input on any phones, and this Bold is my first Blackberry (got it on Christmas) - therefore, forgive the long explanation please. Basically, does the LG Vu (pronounced View?) allow Japanese input? I googled but am not coming up with much. If not, what are other phones that do allow it so that we can communicate in Japanese through text messages/e-mails? She tells me she's not all that happy with her LG Vu anyway, so if it turns out she has to have a blackberry in order to do it, she may buy one someday eventually anyway. However, I'd definitely like to save her the money first, if at all possible. Plus, it may be kind of dumb to just buy a new phone altogether to type in Japanese with me on it. Unless she really hates that LG Vu. :P

Any thoughts or suggestions would be really appreciated here. Thank you so much for your time - I hope I posted this in the right place.
    01-26-09 01:37 PM