I've read conflicting advice on this, some hopefully someone with experience can reply (or link to a posting with the right answer).

I have a BB with a data plan. I will be traveling to Europe and will KEEP my current plan active, BUT, I hope to buy a local SIM card for text/voice/data. Since my home data plan is still active, I will still have a BB id and PIN, same email, etc. all still associated with the BES at the office for email.

So my question is (hopefully this is really clear):
    If a buy a voice/text/data monthly SIM card in europe, will my BBM and BES email still work? This SIM should simply offers a data pipe (like wifi at home)!

As a corollary, if I turn off my mobile radio and leave wifi on, then BBM and email still work for me! So wouldn't a regular data plan do the same?
    01-24-12 10:41 AM
    I'm no expert (So maybe I shouldn't post)....But I think you'll be fine for using the new sim abroad for everything other than BIS.

As part of your BB Data Plan you pay your mobile provider to use it over their network - if you are abroad and you are using a sim from a different provider then there will be no BB Data plan associated with the SIM I think

You should still be able to use BBM etc on wifi, as that doesn't go through a mobile providers system though.
    01-24-12 10:53 AM
    I think your response is off track....a foreign SIM is nothing but a data pipe (just like a WiFi connection at home). If I turn off the mobile radio, but leave wifi radio on, the BBM and Email and Browsing work fine.

With a foreign SIM with voice/text/data plan, wouldn't everything BB data related still work fine? (No BIS required).
    01-24-12 11:01 AM