I'm not sure if this is the correct forum so feel free to move.

I am thinking of getting a broadband mobile hotspot and have a few questions.

1) Is anyone here using one, if so whose do you?

2) How does the connection differ from my cell phone connection?

3) If I am getting poor reception on my BB 9700 with T-Mobile will I get poor hotspot reception?

4) Will it be any different then tethering my 9700 with my PlayBook?

I can get a hotspot from T-Mobile for $80 with a 2 year contract and 2gb a month for $32.

TIA
    05-14-11 08:57 AM
    I'm not an expert on T-Mobile USA however won't your BB 9700 connect via UMA? T-Mobile USA is a UMA supporting carrier and UMA doesn't cost the same as the hotspot?

Perhaps look into setting up UMA before you commit to the outgoings of the hotspot device.
    05-14-11 09:48 AM
    Uma would only help the 9700 on calls. Would have no impact on the reception.

Chances are if you have poor network coverage on your device, you will have the same problem with the hotspot, as it uses the same network...

What devices are you planning on using? If it's just your bb and a pb, you are better off just tethering... No use paying more to accheive the same thing... If you wanted to run those two, + an itouch and a laptop, then I would consider the hotspot..

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-14-11 09:54 AM
    Uma would only help the 9700 on calls. Would have no impact on the reception.
    If you connect to the Network via UMA then it replaces the mobile network connection between the phone and the NOC so the mobile reception then become irrelevant as that part is superseded via the Wi-Fi UMA connection.
    05-14-11 10:21 AM
    If you connect to the Network via UMA then it replaces the mobile network connection between the phone and the NOC so the mobile reception then become irrelevant as that part is superseded via the Wi-Fi UMA connection.
    Correct