Join Our 3 MILLION+ Members Today! Register Here | Login
Go Back   BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com > BlackBerry Smartphone Help and Discussion Forums > BlackBerry Curve 83xx

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
    Thread Author   #1  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:11 PM
CrackBerry Addict
Device(s): Motorola Droid X
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Pin: Send me a PM
 
Location: SW Michigan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 587
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I setup my email on my BB and got this message..

Dear AT&T Yahoo! Customer:

We noticed that you are accessing email using non-secure settings in your email software.

We would like to ensure that your AT&T Yahoo! Member ID, password, and email messages are transmitted securely between your mail software (such as Outlook or Outlook Express) and the AT&T Yahoo! Mail servers. In order to meet this need, please enable SSL via the instructions that are available on the Help site.

Since multiple email notifications have already been sent out about this, we request that you please make the necessary changes immediately. Remember, you need to make these changes if you want to continue to send/receive email using a mail client.

Thank you for your cooperation,

AT&T Yahoo! Customer Support





What do I need to do?????
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #2  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:15 PM
CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses
Device(s): VZW 4G Thunderbolt
Carrier: Verizon
Pin: NED To A Wall
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8,764
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Hmm I would call your carrier and email provider to see if this ligit.
__________________
RACECAR spelled backwards is RACECAR

The only stupid question, is the one not asked.
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
    Thread Author   #3  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:24 PM
CrackBerry Addict
Device(s): Motorola Droid X
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Pin: Send me a PM
 
Location: SW Michigan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 587
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

btw this is for my sbcglobal.net email address
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #4  
Old 11-09-2008, 07:36 AM
CrackBerry User
Device(s): 8130 (Pearl)
Carrier: Verizon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got this same email tonight...Is it phishing?
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #5  
Old 11-09-2008, 07:46 AM
CrackBerry Genius
Device(s): 9380
Carrier: O2
Pin: CH me I MUST be dreaming!
 
Location: Cymru
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,525
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Doesn't sound legit to me, sounds more like a phishing e-mail...
__________________
Thanks and Best Wishes
CipherDias
(CYMRU AM BYTH)
Recovering a DEAD Berry! | How to increase a Berrys file free memory | Proper Upgrade/Downgrade Procedure
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #6  
Old 11-09-2008, 09:03 AM
CrackBerry Newbie
Device(s): 9550 (Storm2)
Carrier: Verizon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My wife is using an sbcglobal.net and did not have any problems setting it up

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #7  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:02 AM
CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses
Device(s): 9630 (Tour)
Carrier: Sprint/Nextel
 
Location: DeForest, WI
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7,534
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Op, considering you dont belong to AT&T, I woulnd worry about it.
__________________
Made In New Zealand..
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
    Thread Author   #8  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:34 AM
CrackBerry Addict
Device(s): Motorola Droid X
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Pin: Send me a PM
 
Location: SW Michigan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 587
Likes Received: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The email account I got this message with was an at&t owned @sbcglobal.net email address. I got the message in my inbox when I set up that account on my Sprint Curve.

I dont believe it is a phishing email. I think it may have something to do with the security settings that the BB uses to go out and get the sbcglobal.net email...... maybe?
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
  #9  
Old 11-09-2008, 12:06 PM
CrackBerry Abuser
Device(s): 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 116
Likes Received: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is NOT a phishing e-mail.

You MUST logon on your computer, goto my.att.com, account setting and ADD the blackberry e-mail address to the AT&T (yahoo) system.

This is the only way you'll be able to SEND from your blackberry e-mail account via Outlook from your desktop/laptop computer.

Also, ensure that all your security settting on outlook (secure socket) are correct in accordance with the FAQ on my.att.com's website.

I had this same issue when AT&T changed their settings for Outlook and you had to register your "other" e-mail addresses.

I havea AT&T Uverse, I think that's when it started. The @sbcglobal.net is an AT&T owned address and you can only get one of those addrsses is if you had AT&T Dialup, DSL, or Fiber Optics.
Reply With Quote Tip this Post
Reply
BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com > > BlackBerry Smartphone Help and Discussion Forums > BlackBerry Curve 83xx   I setup my email on my BB and got this message..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes