Can anyone tell me how to use the Bold as a modem with a tether WITHOUT wireless? I have no IT knowledge so any specific help would be very much appreciated!
    11-20-08 08:03 PM
    11-20-08 08:35 PM
    Hey guys, I followed all the instructions to the T, and when i try to connect, it says

"verifying username and password..."

error 734: The PPP link control protocol was terminated

what am i doing wrong??? TIA!!!

im actually w.o internet at the house and its really important so id really appreciate it!!

Running ATT in USA obviously...
    Last edited by Rosati; 11-25-08 at 03:51 PM.
    11-25-08 03:49 PM
    Not sure what you are doing wrong but I followed a very nice tutorial on youtube which was spot on for me. Just wish I could get it to work without the cable over bluetooth or like my e71 where I could turn the phone into a wireless access point.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-25-08 04:01 PM
    Anyone from usa/att? : )
    11-25-08 04:08 PM
    Anyone from usa/att? : )
    disregard any instructions on this thread. I have tried all that it works but it can get confusing with settings ect...This is all you have to do:

Download at&t connection manager
    http://www.wireless.att.com/business...CM-6.9.115.exe

Make sure you have BB Desktop manager 4.6 installed as well

Open up BB Desktop manager
    Connect Bold & make sure DM recognizes it
    Open up Connection Manager
    Wait about a minute and a half until Connection Manager connects to Phone
    Press connect and you're done.

Thats it.
    El Bori likes this.
    11-25-08 04:24 PM
    you'll need to get the $60 tether data plan.
    11-25-08 04:39 PM
    disregard any instructions on this thread. I have tried all that it works but it can get confusing with settings ect...This is all you have to do:

Download at&t connection manager
    http://www.wireless.att.com/business...CM-6.9.115.exe

Make sure you have BB Desktop manager 4.6 installed as well