Go Back   BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com > BlackBerry Device Help and Discussion Forums > BlackBerry Curve 83xx

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:11 PM
0pusX's Avatar
CrackBerry Abuser
Device Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 495
Default I setup my email on my BB and got this message..

Dear AT&T Yahoo! Customer:

We noticed that you are accessing email using non-secure settings in your email software.

We would like to ensure that your AT&T Yahoo! Member ID, password, and email messages are transmitted securely between your mail software (such as Outlook or Outlook Express) and the AT&T Yahoo! Mail servers. In order to meet this need, please enable SSL via the instructions that are available on the Help site.

Since multiple email notifications have already been sent out about this, we request that you please make the necessary changes immediately. Remember, you need to make these changes if you want to continue to send/receive email using a mail client.

Thank you for your cooperation,

AT&T Yahoo! Customer Support





What do I need to do?????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:15 PM
lastraid's Avatar
CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses
Device Model: 9630 Tour (4.7.1.61)
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
PIN: acle of life
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,488
Default

Hmm I would call your carrier and email provider to see if this ligit.
__________________
RACECAR spelled backwards is RACECAR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:24 PM
0pusX's Avatar
CrackBerry Abuser
Device Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 495
Default

btw this is for my sbcglobal.net email address
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:36 AM
CrackBerry User
Device Model: 8130 (Pearl)
Carrier: Verizon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Default

I got this same email tonight...Is it phishing?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:46 AM
CipherDias's Avatar
CrackBerry Master
Device Model: 8310 (Curve)
Carrier: T-Mobile (UK)
PIN: CH me I MUST be dreaming!
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cymru
Posts: 1,409
Default

Doesn't sound legit to me, sounds more like a phishing e-mail...
__________________
Thanks and Best Wishes
CipherDias
(CYMRU AM BYTH)
Recovering a DEAD Berry! | How to increase a Berrys file free memory | Proper Upgrade/Downgrade Procedure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:03 AM
CrackBerry Newbie
Device Model: 9000 (Bold)
Carrier: AT&T/Cingular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

My wife is using an sbcglobal.net and did not have any problems setting it up

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:02 AM
rachel0179's Avatar
CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses
Device Model: 8330 (Curve) 4.5.0.175
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DeForest, WI
Posts: 7,388
Default

Op, considering you dont belong to AT&T, I woulnd worry about it.
__________________
Made In New Zealand..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:34 AM
0pusX's Avatar
CrackBerry Abuser
Device Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 495
Default

The email account I got this message with was an at&t owned @sbcglobal.net email address. I got the message in my inbox when I set up that account on my Sprint Curve.

I dont believe it is a phishing email. I think it may have something to do with the security settings that the BB uses to go out and get the sbcglobal.net email...... maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2008, 01:06 PM
CrackBerry User
Device Model: 8900
Carrier: STC
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

This is NOT a phishing e-mail.

You MUST logon on your computer, goto my.att.com, account setting and ADD the blackberry e-mail address to the AT&T (yahoo) system.

This is the only way you'll be able to SEND from your blackberry e-mail account via Outlook from your desktop/laptop computer.

Also, ensure that all your security settting on outlook (secure socket) are correct in accordance with the FAQ on my.att.com's website.

I had this same issue when AT&T changed their settings for Outlook and you had to register your "other" e-mail addresses.

I havea AT&T Uverse, I think that's when it started. The @sbcglobal.net is an AT&T owned address and you can only get one of those addrsses is if you had AT&T Dialup, DSL, or Fiber Optics.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.

 
 Site Support | Accessory Order Support | App Store Support | Advertise | Newsletter | About Us

Creating smartphone communities
Android Central - Android reviews, news and forums Crackberry - Blackberry news, reviews and community TiPb - iPhone news, accessory reviews & forums
Pre Central - Palm Pre Review, News and Community Treo Central - Treo & Centro News and Forums WMExperts - Windows Mobile Reviews & News

The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of Research in Motion Limited.
CrackBerry.com is in No Way Affiliated with Research in Motion Limited.
Copyright ©2007-2009 Smartphone Experts. Terms and Conditions. Privacy Policy. All rights reserved.