Hey guys-

So I had a problem, and it was that I wanted to try out Blackberry Maps. Love Google Maps, tried Bing, and handful of other map programs. I started combing through posts, found a bunch of decent little tidbits here and there, but nothing start to finish legit as far as a walk through.

After a few hours spent working on this, I figured it out, and decided to put it all down in a thread that I'm sure existed but couldn't find, and figured maybe this will help someone out someday. You also need Blackberry Swiss Army Knife, and a litttle bit of know how.

My status is newbie as far as my post count goes, but I've been tweaking BB's for a few years, soaking a lot from these wonderful threads; I figured my time had come to contribute. A lot of you know a lot more than me, not bragging. But I am going to write this for newbies, by a "newbie," because I don't want to skip any steps, and hopefully that way most people can get this to work.

So basically real quick some background: Blackberry puts BBmaps on all of their phones standard. Some carriers suppress this for different reasons: usually so they can push their own crap on you, and get an extra $9.99/month for some lackluster turn by turn nav program.

Feel free to delete vendor.xml all you want, but there are traces of vendor specific stuff all over the phone. If you put a vodafone or Tmobile SIM in your phone (assuming you unlock it) real subtle things like layout, icon placement, wallpaper, default settings all change. There are tons of "If --> Then" clauses all over the place in the software.

Vendor.xml is just the tip of the iceberg as far as methods by which these phones identify the vendors. For example...vendor 102 = AT&T. If certain criteria are met on cell signal radio band, IMEI#, SIM#, etc, the phone knows it's time to put on the AT&T "costume."