ok i am no great developr, but i have written some cool utilities in vb.net using visual studio. nothing great, the last app i wrote opened up a dns log produced by a server and then used reg expressions to find specific things the user would need to look for, etc. nothing huge but it was some what complex. so i am not a complete newb, but close to it.

so when i got a bb, i was interested in writing some apps for it, small stuff. i wrote some for my winmo device using .net and it was mega easy.

but i got the eclipse ide, and installed the bb plugins, etc. and opened up the hello world sample and am so clueless, i feel like i never even took a course in programming.

its the first time in my life where i can understand the helloworld program at all.

now i dont know if this is because i dont know java, dont know specifically j2me or cause i dont know the bb api's, etc but i gave up more than a couple times.

so i need some guidance. i cant find a single book for programming for the blackberry. do i need a intro book on java? an intro book on j2me?

or perhaps i need an intro book on java and then a book on j2me? or can i start with just j2me without knowing any java?

and then how do i learn the bb ide without any books? the bb developer zone is garbage for what i want to learn. i dont need to learn how to do advanced bluetooth stack blah blah. i need to a book that starts by explaining this hello world sample to me, etc. and i havent found that, not even on amazon.

anyone in my shoes gone through this?
    02-03-09 02:29 PM
    You're going to want to start by learning Java.
    02-03-09 02:42 PM