Hi Guys,

I'm new in Blackberry and it's development. I've got a project requiring me to code , compile and sign some java apps in a RHEL linux environment.Has anyone successfully deployed a working JDE environment in linux?

It was easy to develop in windows as i just had to install the JDE from BB.
    After some googling there wasn't much around on BB JDE on linux. So i came here for help and advise.

I found a few pages but they are only pieces of the puzzle,

A simple yes powerful enough tool to completely replace the RIM JDE. However a copy of the JDE must be installed for the rapc and signature tool jar files. Which i am unsure of how to.
    http:// bb-ant-tools.sourceforge.net/main

How to sign your BB apps using bb ant tools.
    http:// blog.lightvoid.net/2008/04/28/automated-blackberry-sign-tool-mac-linux-windows/

But at the end of the day i'm unsure how to deploy the RIM JDE in linux.

Thanks in advance.
    11-23-08 09:10 PM
    I don't believe this is possible, I've installed vmplayer (legally free) and boot the copy of windows that came with the computer from inside linux.

To get everything up and running it's helpful to grab the 30 day trial version of vmware for the desktop, after that you can just go on using the player.

Other virtualisation solutions don't handle the BB changing USB IDs and that can be a pain if you want to connect to a real device for debugging or other reasons.

In any case I've not been able to upgrade the OS from a virtual copy of windows, and needed to resort to using a real copy of windows running natively on a machine for this.
    11-23-08 09:17 PM
    I don't believe this is possible, I've installed vmplayer (legally free) and boot the copy of windows that came with the computer from inside linux.

To get everything up and running it's helpful to grab the 30 day trial version of vmware for the desktop, after that you can just go on using the player.