Hi All,

As the title says I am looking for a Canadian lawyer who deals with Trademark and IP law. My BB10 app "DictaNote" apparently is infringing on a trademark of a company in Germany and I have received several e-mails from their lawyer and this morning I received a Cease & Desist letter from them. I removed the app from sale after receiving the first e-mail in order to try to avoid any legal action being taken against me. Before i do anything else, including signing the cease and desist, I would like to get some legal advice, but unfortunately I cannot afford the lawyer fees of any of the places in Ottawa where I live.

I develop BB10 apps in my spare time as a hobby. My apps are mostly free apps or make use of in-app purchases, but I have made very little money off of the apps. I am hoping someone out their would know someone who is willing to help.

Thanks,
    12-03-13 09:21 AM
    Good luck with your efforts. I'm not a lawyer and I don't know any in Canada, but I will pass this on to a few friends here in the US who might be able to point you in the right direction.
    12-03-13 10:09 AM
    I don't do IP law but a quick Google search revealed multiple Dictanote apps.
    Did they send you verification of the trademark you're allegedly infringing?
    12-03-13 10:48 AM
    Wondering out loud if it would help to just remove the app for sale from Germany, but not other Countries? I know with my app, I am only allowed to sell it in the US for copyright reasons. Of course I'm about as far from a lawyer as you can get!
    12-03-13 10:51 AM
    Wondering out loud if it would help to just remove the app for sale from Germany, but not other Countries? I know with my app, I am only allowed to sell it in the US for copyright reasons. Of course I'm about as far from a lawyer as you can get!