Hey everyone,

I'm your typical guy who spends his days browsing App World, and thinking "Why don't I make something?"

So finally I decided that I'm going to take some time and figure things out.

This is a question I've seen several times, but I need to ask it again. What should I use to develop my apps? Java, HTML5, Air? I don't have a preference, but don't want to get off on the wrong foot and hinder myself from the very beginning. If I had all the time in the world, I would just learn all of them!

Currently, I'm a total beginner. I learned some BASIC in high school, and tinkered with HTML in making crappy personal websites on geocities. I've never had the time to totally engross myself (and to be honest, likely won't ever).

But what are your suggestions? Is one platform better for one thing, but worse for others? Is one easier to program, but weaker on options? I'll be considering developing for Blackberry phones and Playbooks. Thanks in advance for any tips.
    Yas2202 likes this.
    07-14-12 09:53 AM
    I'm no developer but I think if you want to do both bb10 and the OS7 phones that html5 is the one that will work on both. If you want to do bb10 pb and bb10 phones then any you choose or do will work on both.
    skilas likes this.
    07-14-12 10:19 AM
    I'm thinking HTML5 as well.

So I've started downloading what I think I'll need. So many logins to create and things to download. Webworks, Java Dev Kit, Ripple. Hopefully on the right track.
    07-14-12 11:30 AM
    Have you looked here also?

https://developer.blackberry.com/
    07-14-12 11:40 AM
    bbUI.js google dat shiz

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    07-14-12 11:53 AM
    sorry I was being lazy: http://opensourcebb.com/osbbx/index....d-with-bbui-js

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    07-14-12 11:55 AM
    If you're looking for some general advice...

Skip Java. It's basically dead on BB and the new tools are much easier to use anyway.