Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By SCrid2000
    CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Question Language confusion. Help please

Hi everyone,
    I have a masters project upcoming and I have to create a basic app within 3 months. The topic was to create for android, however I changed it to blackberry 10 as I wanna develop for it.

I recently went through the developers website and I see alot of options to go with! And I am confused what way to go, so some suggestions or help would be of great help.

The functionality of the app is very simple, the user must be able to select a photo or click one and then paint an area which they could blur out to blur the background like. Maybe using a slider. So can someone suggest a language which would be easier and better to achieve this functionality?

Thanks alot
    CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

nobody? please help
    CrackBerry Newbie

Global Posts
    12 Global Posts

I would suggest Cascades as it is based on Qt and Qml. I think it should do as long as you like c++. Qml is a separate thing but is easy enough.

Posted via CB10
    Thanked by:
    irfanintekhab (03-31-2013) 

Global Posts
    10,384 Global Posts
    PIN
    PM me.

This would be comparatively easy to do with HTML5 Canvas (WebWorks) and perhaps hammer.js to detect the click location.
    How much help are you allowed to have (buy? ) for this project?
    TBH I think I have about 70% of the code you'd want to use written (including saving the modified image thanks to Erik Oros' CanvasToBlob Github sample) if I Frankenstein it from some of my other apps.

I'm a flash dev. So I'd use AS3. But html5 is the better way.

Posted via CB10
    CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #6  

Quote Originally Posted by SCrid2000 View Post
    This would be comparatively easy to do with HTML5 Canvas (WebWorks) and perhaps hammer.js to detect the click location.
    How much help are you allowed to have (buy? ) for this project?