Hi, I'm new to these forums and also new to writing applications. I'd like to make an app for personal use and have some questions. I'm learning Spanish right now and I'd like to make a relatively simple app to store store words I don't know in a flashcard-like format.

I basically want to be able to go from one screen to the next in the program, displaying a different word each time I click a button. Maybe a "bookmarking" feature would be nice to have, too.

I just started learning Java for this. My main question is, how am I supposed to organize all these different Spanish words in the application? I would imagine that flipping through these flashcards will be the same as going from one screen to the next in a stack. Am I going to need a .java file for every flashcard in this case?

I was just wondering if this is going to be a messy endeavor, organization-wise and size-wise. Though I plan to use just plain text for this app, since I'd like to make it for myself.

Thanks!
    10-10-10 08:29 PM
    you may want to look into using the BB web developement environment. This will allow you to use eclypse with the BB plugin. The developement is done mostly in HTML with a number of BB APIs.
    10-19-10 09:56 PM
    Start with the Java tutorials at Sun.com, and elsewhere, and come back to the BB after you learn some basic programming. Otherwise you are just taking on way too much.

Good luck!
    10-23-10 09:14 AM
    You would store the words in arrays "wordArray", then have an output template. For each word in the array, you would have to call the output class which contains the "flashcard template".
    To display another word every time you click a button, you would have to output the following word (array index increase) in the wordArray array.