Hi,

I'm new to Blackberry as of yesterday and have had a few problems which I'm hoping will be sorted out by an OS upgrade.

I've had a very unreliable Wi-Fi connection (despite being next door to router, it is continuously dropping out and swapping to mobile network coverage) and some worrying stalling upon reboot since the moment I put in the battery. I've been on crackberry.com for a large part of the last 36 hours finding answers to the above issues and the Wi-Fi is marginally better (at least, it spends a little longer trying to load pages before greying out or quitting altogether). I've selected Wi-Fi preferred etc, done battery pulls I'm now trying to find out how to upgrade to 5.0 (or at least 4.6.1.456) in the hope this will sort it out properly...if not I'm going to ask for a replacement as I'm pretty sure that behaviour isn't normal!!

I use a mac, and have BB desktop manager for mac installed, but it is telling me there is NO upgrade available for my 8900 Curve.
    Out of the box, my phone is running 4.6.1.310.
    My carrier is O2 (UK) and through RIM the available upgrade for O2 is 4.6.1.456 (although its .exe and obv doesn't run on mac)
    So I think desktop manager is telling me lies.
    Running Wireless Update on phone also comes back with 'no update available'
    Apploader not option - maybe PocketMac??

Obviously it would be ideal to upgrade to 5.0.0.461, but hearing people are having more Wi-Fi issues is putting me off for now, that's if I even manage to upgrade to 4.6.1.456?

Please please excuse me if I'm missing something obvious or duplicating - any help would be greatly appreciated - I've found crackberry really helpful but am totally stuck now!! Crackberry insomnia not helping...

Thanks
    Last edited by ziggidotcom; 02-19-10 at 09:01 PM.
    02-19-10 08:58 PM
    Try these.

How to get DM to Recognize the OS

https://forums.crackberry.com/showthread.php?t=378720

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com