Hi,
    I'm new to blackberry world. I tried to connect my bold 9780 to my computer through usb cable, but the desktop software cannot detect my device. I tried the clean uninstall that I found in this forum, and reinstall the desktop software, it didn't work.
    p.s, I also tried to repair the desktop software on my PC, but it says blackberry desktop software.msi is missing

Anyone has clue what i can do to solve this problem?
    11-07-10 08:09 AM
    Delete the current desktop software on your computer. Find a good registry cleaner and make sure ALL elements have been removed. Then try a new clean install and I think it will work fine.
    11-07-10 09:48 AM
    Hi! I am new Blackberry user and just bought a 9780 last Thurs. However, the desktop software is giving a me a lot of sleepless nights and grief until today.

In short, Desktop Software version 6 can't run on my Windows 7 32bit. After installing, I launched it and the first thing that crash was Rim.Autodesktop.Update.

After which, Desktop Software opened up nicely. I connected it and it could see my 9780. But when I click on "Configure Settings" in "Organizer", it crashed again. Gah...

I looked through tons of forums (too many to count =)) and tried tons of suggestions. Did clean uninstall, clean up registry & reinstall (crashed); uninstall Outlook 2007, install Desktop Software 6 and ran it, crashed; turn off antivirus, clean uninstall & clean up registry and reinstall as administrator and ran the program as admin, crash.

I am running out of ideas. I looked in the Desktop.log and noticed the lines:

04:45:02.634|FATAL|26|Rim.Desktop.Shell|0|Fatal Application Error
    System.Security.SecurityException: Requested registry access is not allowed.

So I tried another suggestion and tried taking ownership of HKEY_CURRENT_USER & HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. This somehow disabled my net access and I had to restore back to a previous restore point.