Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 48
  1. chrisek's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    64 Posts
    PIN
    PM Me
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BB Desktop Manager 5.0 for the 8900 and 9000

    Hey, thought I start thread about this desktop manager! I am downloading it now, would love to hear from you who have tried it out!

    Post any fast download links to this app here.
    Orginal News from crackberry

    Download BBDM5.exe @ Hotfile.com
    Download BBDM5.exe @ RapidShare
    Last edited by chrisek; 04-11-2009 at 04:05 PM. Reason: Added another link
    8900
  2. fbriceno97's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    16 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Just installed and the startup screen says 4.7.1
  3. Hazysky's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,945 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I was able to restore memo's that I lost when installing 5.0.0.90 so that's great.

    However I have been trying to do a new back up and it will not work 'error backing up databases'. I cleared my internet caches but it still will not work.
  4. justlovejoy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,427 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,436 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:20f8132c
    #4  

    Default

    so is there any point in me doing this update to my dm, being i am using a 8350i on 4.6? just wanted to know cause i get a few inconsistencies with 4.7!

    I'm Far Away from My Crackberry Mobile device But I'm Also handling Some Personal Business. Please remain Focused!
    ~Jlj
    He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.
    ~Einstien
  5. kjdoug's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    193 Posts
    #5  

    Exclamation Hmmm

    Did anyone else read that in the new license agreement it says RIM tracks the activation of certain product features for administrative purposes and your PIN and installation identifier will be automatically registered with RIM up activation of certain features of this software.

    It could be me but I never noticed this before.

    So beware all you installers they will know from your PIN that you installed this. Don't know if it really matters in the grand scheme of things but just thought i would mention it.
  6. scouts36's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    984 Posts
    #6  

    Default Works fine!

    I just upgrade my DM 4.6 to 5.0. I use Bold running .247 OS.
    Everything works fine, faster synch with Outlook 2007. backups work fine.. but to be honest, no other major changes. I expected much more in this version.
    Anyway, it seems the only reason they have DM 5 is to make it compatible with the 5 OS versions that will soon allow us to upgrade our BB devilces, or at least some of its later models.
  7. Sith_Apprentice's Avatar

    Posts
    10,105 Posts
    Global Posts
    10,107 Global Posts
    PIN
    Changes way too often
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kjdoug View Post
    Did anyone else read that in the new license agreement it says RIM tracks the activation of certain product features for administrative purposes and your PIN and installation identifier will be automatically registered with RIM up activation of certain features of this software.

    It could be me but I never noticed this before.

    So beware all you installers they will know from your PIN that you installed this. Don't know if it really matters in the grand scheme of things but just thought i would mention it.
    This has been in the EULA before for all Beta DMs
    ~S_A
  8. Roscopcoletrain's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,792 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,854 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Yeah can anyone upgrade to this or just the people running 5.0 on their devices?
    The Nameless Channel
    Canada | C000F0BDE
  9. peike's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    38 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kjdoug View Post
    Did anyone else read that in the new license agreement it says RIM tracks the activation of certain product features for administrative purposes and your PIN and installation identifier will be automatically registered with RIM up activation of certain features of this software.

    It could be me but I never noticed this before.

    So beware all you installers they will know from your PIN that you installed this. Don't know if it really matters in the grand scheme of things but just thought i would mention it.
    Maybe they like the the PIN numbers so they can see who uses the DM and track any problems with it. It would make it easier for them to document these bugs if they can go back and look at reports showing what was trying to be done at the time of the problem. Not really a "Big Brother" kind of thing, just maintenance observations.

    Just a thought.

    What I would like to see is the ability to backup just 3rd party apps the same way that you back up the address book, pics, ect.
    Last edited by peike; 04-11-2009 at 06:45 PM. Reason: typo
  10. mscooley's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,896 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Looks like I'm going to be the first non 4.6+ to try this out. Downloading now. BRB
    HIT ME ON TWITTER
    @kmcooley
  11. hockey#CB's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    17 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    have dm5.0 along with 5.0.0.90 on my bold and everything is way faster syncing. Like the 5.0 way better than 4.7dm
  12. _StephenBB81's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    8,236 Posts
    Global Posts
    8,251 Global Posts
    #12  

    Default

    It loads faster after it crashes when trying to sync my calendars
  13. mscooley's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,896 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Definitely agree with everyone on the loading. Here's some more noticeables:

    - more user friendly messages (i.e. when the device needs to reboot, it says, "This could take as long as 30 minutes..."

    - cleaner interface

    - again, the speed is improved

    - checking, "don't check for updates" really mean that it's not gonna search for updates every time it loads

    - hasn't crashed while i'm writing this
    HIT ME ON TWITTER
    @kmcooley
  14. Jonneh's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,010 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,799 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Cool, I may have to check this out then.
  15. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    7,894 Posts
    Global Posts
    9,312 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #15  

    Default

    grand find, just updated mine, no more roxio the memory hog! Should I also add, this applies across the devices not just the bold/storm/what have you, works on my pearl, and got rid of the roxio media manager, just use the native one from blackberry now on 5.0 DM
    Last edited by zocster; 04-12-2009 at 04:12 AM.
  16. chochopr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    PIN
    24B1C211
    #16  

    Default

    Hey is that BBDM 5.0 is the one with Media Manager or is it without it?
    Angel

    Sent via BlackBerry Device
  17. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    7,894 Posts
    Global Posts
    9,312 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #17  

    Default

    if you have one installed and prefer to stick with the roxio one it will leave it there, however if you chose to remove it will be removed during the upgrade and left with a BB media manager native I think.
  18. spubin's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    17 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Definitely faster sync with outlook, maybe half the time it took with 4.6 or 4.7
  19. shank69xo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    138 Posts
    PIN
    402E1561
    #19  

    Default

    Is there any benefit of upgrading to this if I am using DM4.7 and an 8350i with the latest OS?
    CHUCK NORRIS makes JACK BAUER beat his own a$$
  20. webchetan's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    32 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    I will wait for the official release. No hurry for me. I hardly sync once a month
    BB Freak
    Running OS 6.0.0.380 on Bold 9700
  21. joeram's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    dm5 with os5 on an 8900 on step 3 is telling me fatoal error and to retry.
    trying a torrent of os5 to see if any different.
  22. chochopr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    PIN
    24B1C211
    #22  

    Exclamation Re: Bbdm 5.0

    Well the thing is that I have the 4.7 BBDM without Media Manager because I have the New Full version of Roxio software on my Computer and I'm afraid to install it cause it's going to down grade my Roxio Software cause it happen b4 so that's why I was asking is this is the one without the Media Manager cause truly I don't even use it...
    Angel

    Sent via BlackBerry Device
  23. joeram's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    now I am getting a message saying that no update is needed. deleted the vendor xml but same situation.
  24. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    7,894 Posts
    Global Posts
    9,312 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #24  

    Default

    this is not the device OS updater this is the desktop manager for ALL device
  25. Pete6's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    9,539 Posts
    Global Posts
    9,543 Global Posts
    PIN
    T of Beer Please
    #25  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joeram View Post
    now I am getting a message saying that no update is needed. deleted the vendor xml but same situation.
    Disconnect your PC from the Internet before you start the upgrade process. DM 5, just like 4.7 puts Vendr.xml back if you delete it. It does this by contacting RIM's servers and deciding what is wrong.

    Here's how to fix it.


    Why won't my OS update? I deleted the Vendor.xml file! - BlackBerryForums.com : Your Number One BlackBerry Community

    This was written for 4.7, but it applys equally to 5.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions