Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 48
  1. Denny_Crane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BES 10 vs. ActiveSync

    So with the recent launch of the BlackBerry Z10, there has been a lot of confusion around the need for BIS/BES services on BB10. That article cleared up a couple things for me, but has also left me confused about others.

    What I want to know, is as an enterprise user, how will the end-user experience differ if I chose to use ActivySync versus BES 10? I'm currently on a hosted Exchange/BES plan from GoDaddy (9900 w/OS 7.1), but I'm not sure if they have BES 10 servers yet. If I chose to just use ActiveSync (which I understand is possible with BB10), how will my experience differ?

    Obviously I'll lose features such as Remote Wipe, but how will my email functionality differ (if at all).
  2. Foreverup's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,861 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    You probably won't notice a difference in email coverage. Active sync does support Remote wipe but I do not know if a hosted exchange server will allow it but I'm sure godaddy will answer that for you
  3. Denny_Crane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    GoDaddy support is useless. I've had 3 emails to them trying to clarify if/when they will be getting BES 10 servers. They insist they don't host the BES, and that my mobile provider does. It's like beating your head against a wall trying to deal with those idiots.
  4. dosto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    492 Posts
    Global Posts
    515 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I am currently in a similar situation. I use Google Apps and use bosted BES for Google Apps. My provider is ExchangeMyMail.com (they're customer service is great). I am doubting whether Google Apps will support BES10 and BB10 devices, and I am concerned ActiveSync will not sync emails, calendars and contacts as well as BES.

    For now, I am waiting it out. TMO doesn't get Z10 until late March, and I really waiting on Q10 anyway, which may be April, so I have some time to see how BES10 and ActiveSync work.

    My biggest fear is that ActiveSync will not like I want/need it to, thus forcing me to switch to hosted MS Exchange, from Google Apps, in order to take advantage of BES10.
  5. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    If I understand everything correctly, to take full advantage of the BB10, I should use BES. Can anyone recommend a hosted exchange that will support BB10 when it is released by Att. I run a non profit association, one email account with a 9900 and playbook. Will I need or should I get two licenses from Blackberry or does the bridge work for BES? Will I be able to move my email to an exchange but leave my website hosted as is or should I move both? All of this is coming out of my pocket so I want the best value for my money without causing problems for the association, also I need a company that offers good customer service because I will be attempting to set this up myself with no IT experience. Thank you!
  6. dosto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    492 Posts
    Global Posts
    515 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    cajunberry, I've used ExchangeMyMail and have been satisfied with the service and their customer service has always been helpful. Other options would be Rackspace, or you could go directly through Microsoft with Office365.

    I'm not sure how BB10 and Playbook will work together, but my 9900 and Playbook sync flawlessly with just the one license.

    You can move your email hosting without having to move website hosting. My website and email are hosted by two different companies.
    Thanked by:
    cajunberry (02-06-2013) 
  7. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Does Office 365 or Microsoft Exchange work with BES? BB10?
  8. dosto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    492 Posts
    Global Posts
    515 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    It's my understanding Office 365, MS Exchange and BES/Blackberry work very well together. As for BB10, not so certain. Probably would want to wait and see how things shake out. If you use MS Office a lot, then Office 365 might be a good option.
  9. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Thank you!
  10. Denny_Crane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    So far I'm just using Exchange ActiveSync with my Z10. I haven't had any time to fart around with the phone since I got it on Tuesday. I might try to activate the BES through GoDaddy's portal today. I'll report back and let you know how it went (though I'm not hopeful).

    I can say that Exchange ActiveSync seems to be working quite well for me so far. I know that Memos/Notes only sync over BES, so for that alone I want to activate the BES. Is it also true that battery life could improve if I'm using BES instead of ActiveSync?
  11. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    This is all very confusing! I have been reading and searching for a couple of days for some input into the BES - hosted exchange - BB10. No one has any information. I am willing to switch to BES but I would prefer to know that at some point the BB10 will be compatible with the exchange provider that I pick. I do not want to make two moves within a year. You would think that at least one company would be announcing we are working on BB10 compatibility.
  12. Denny_Crane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default

    Yeah, I'm very disapointed in BlackBerry for the lack of communication/clarity around BIS, BES, BESx, and ActiveSync. I just sent myself an enterprise activation password through GoDaddy's portal, but I can't even find the enterprise activation setting on my Z10. I asked Google but all that came up was a bunch of posts from others that are as confused as we seem to be. I don't expect my host to have BES 10 servers yet, but I should at least have the option on my device, should I not? By the way, below are my interactions with GoDaddy where I asked them about BES 10 support. It's quite commical:

    Quote Originally Posted by seaners
    Do you have BlackBerry Enterprise Server 10 (BES 10) installed and ready to go? I'm thinking of upgrading my BlackBerry 9900 to the newly released BlackBerry Z10, but it's only compatible with BES10
    Quote Originally Posted by GoDaddy
    Thank you for contacting Online Support.
    After adding your BlackBerry® to your Hosted Exchange Email account, you need to activate the Enterprise server to add the Hosted Exchange Email account to your BlackBerry.

    Locating the Enterprise Activation Icon

    Depending on the BlackBerry® Smartphone Software version running on your BlackBerry, and whether your BlackBerry smartphone has been activated in the past, there are multiple ways to access the Enterprise Activation screen:

    NOTE: If you need help determining your BlackBerry Smartphone Software version, see Determining your BlackBerry Smartphone Software Version.

    From the Home screen

    The Enterprise Activation icon (BlackBerry Device Software 4.0 or later)
    If you have BlackBerry Smartphone Software 4.0 or later and the Enterprise Activation icon is visible on your Home screen, click the icon. This will take you directly to the Enterprise Activation screen.

    The Setup Wizard icon (BlackBerry Device Software 4.2 or later)
    If you have BlackBerry Smartphone Software 4.2 or later and the Setup Wizard icon is visible on your Home screen:
    1. On the Home screen, click Setup Wizard.
    2. Click Email Setup.
    3. Select the I want to use a work email account with a BlackBerry® Enterprise Server option and click Next.
    4. Select the Yes option and click Next.

    NOTE: If this is the first time running the Setup Wizard on your BlackBerry smartphone, you may be required to enter additional information.

    From the Options menu

    The Options menu (BlackBerry Device Software 4.0)
    If you have BlackBerry Smartphone Software 4.0 and the Enterprise Activation icon is not visible on your Home screen:
    1. On the Home screen, click Options.
    2. Click Enterprise Activation.

    The Advanced Options menu (BlackBerry Device Software 4.1 or later)
    If you have BlackBerry Smartphone Software 4.1 or later, and neither the Enterprise Activation icon nor the Setup Wizard icon is visible on your Home screen:
    1. On the Home screen, click Options.
    2. Click Advanced Options.
    3. Click Enterprise Activation.

    Activating Your Enterprise Server
    1. On the Enterprise Activation screen, enter your Hosted Email Address and Password
    NOTE: The activation password is sent in an email message from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server during provisioning.

    2. Open the Menu on the Enterprise Activation screen and select Activate.

    Now your phone and the Enterprise Server synchronize.

    Determining your BlackBerry Smartphone Software Version

    To determine which version of the BlackBerry Smartphone Software is running on your BlackBerry smartphone, complete the following steps:
    1. On the Home screen, click Options.
    2. Click About.

    The third line of text indicates the BlackBerry Smartphone Software version. In the following example, the BlackBerry Smartphone Software version is 4.1. [ v4.1.0.377 (Platform 2.0.0.152) ]

    NOTE: As a courtesy, we provide information about how to use certain third-party products, but we do not endorse or directly support third-party products and we are not responsible for the functions or reliability of such products. BlackBerry®, RIM®, Research In Motion®, SureType® and related trademarks, names and logos are the property of Research In Motion Limited and are registered and/or used in the U.S. and countries around the world. Used under license from Research In Motion Limited.

    Please let us know if we can help you in any other way.
    Quote Originally Posted by seaners
    Thank you for the quick reply, but this does not answer my question. I'm well aware of how to do an enterprise activation. My question is whether you have upgraded to BES 10 yet. If you haven't, the new BlackBerry devices will not work on your BES. Please ask a BlackBerry specialist.
    Quote Originally Posted by GoDaddy
    Thank you for your reply.

    BlackBerry Enterprise Server 2010 would need to be installed by your mobile provider, not on your actual Hosted Exchange Email plan. You would need to contact your mobile service provider for further information regarding BES 10 compatibility issues.

    Please let us know if we can help you in any other way.
    Quote Originally Posted by seaners
    I'm sorry, but that information is inaccurate. Did this get forwarded to a BlackBerry specialist as per my request?

    You are the host of the Exchange Server AND you are the host of the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. I am 100% certain of this.
    Quote Originally Posted by GoDaddy
    Thank you for your response. I understand you would like assistance with connecting your BlackBerry to your Hosted Exchange. We have reviewed this with our Advanced Technical Support department and can confirm that we are not running the BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES). We offer the connection to the BES service in order to get the device functioning properly. You would need to contact your mobile carrier to see if they offer a BES, otherwise you may need to use a 3rd party BES provider.

    Please let us know if we can assist you in any other way.
  13. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Some articles that I read imply that not only is BIS no longer available but BES is not available on BB10 either, hoping they are wrong.
  14. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    SherWeb Hosted Exchange Ready for BlackBerry 10!
    Finally found one company - anyone using them?
  15. Denny_Crane's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    736 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cajunberry View Post
    SherWeb Hosted Exchange Ready for BlackBerry 10!
    Finally found one company - anyone using them?
    Thanks! I'm looking for a new host so I can get away from those idiots at GoDaddy. I just emailed SherWeb to clarify a couple things.
  16. cajunberry's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    173 Posts
    Global Posts
    175 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    I spoke to one hosted exchanged company regarding BES with Blackberry 10. Is the following true?

    Company - "industry rumors say that they will include Active Sync on this new device which means you will not need the added BES license".

    Me - "A couple of reasons for the BES plan. Pushed email, compression of data if it goes thru the blackberry network, ability to use the new balance features (separating work/personal data on phone)."

    Company - " active sync does exactly what you listed that you love about the BES but it's free"

    Does active sync - push, compress & allow the balance feature?
  17. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    133 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default

    If anyone is using email via a hosted Exchange (or other email co that offers Activesync) rather than a corporation that hosts its own email there is zero advantage to BDS/BES.
    BDS basically is a way of secure tunneling into your network, an enabler of BB Balance if the policy is set on the BDS (which to be honest I may well turn off on our corporate BDS as it is so poorly implemented and confusing for the users we have trialled with - the same app installed twice in different places accessing an identical file structure, but with different files - try guessing where your camera pics go), plus some extra management features. Your email/calendar/etc sync is via Activesync no matter whether direct ActiveSync or via BDS. There is no extra compression any more.
    I would imagine that most hosted Exchange co's won't bother with BDS and just continue offering ActiveSync only.
    Thanked by:
    cajunberry (02-20-2013) 
  18. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    133 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cajunberry View Post
    SherWeb Hosted Exchange Ready for BlackBerry 10!
    Finally found one company - anyone using them?
    Their blurb says "Business users who want to keep their email, calendar and contacts at their fingertips can keep their BlackBerry 10 device perfectly synchronized with their desktop thanks to SherWeb's Hosted Exchange 2013 or 2010 solution, which features Active Sync. This exclusive service keeps mobile devices securely connected to the user's Hosted Exchange account at all times, allowing them to benefit from all the productivity-boosting potential of on-the-go business communications."

    This doesn't suggest that they are offering BDS (BES10) - just that they 'feature' ActiveSync.
    Thanked by:
    cajunberry (02-20-2013) 
  19. mgamiet's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    19 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Notes and tasks DO sync on active sync, no bes needed.
    You need a bes if you want to use balance or work drives.
    You need bes if you want to control applications for the devices, use policies etc...

    Posted via CB10
  20. Chriz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    269 Posts
    PIN
    PM me...
    #20  

    Default

    Sorry if this Question is stupid...

    How does eMail work without Active Sync Server and only with a BES10 Server?
  21. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    133 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Chriz. It doesn't. BES10 has no mail/sync handling facility, it's all Activesync.

    Posted via CB10
  22. oufc_gav's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    88 Posts
    Global Posts
    133 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mgamiet View Post
    Notes and tasks DO sync on active sync, no bes needed.
    You need a bes if you want to use balance or work drives.
    You need bes if you want to control applications for the devices, use policies etc...

    Posted via CB10
    As a note, notes only sync via Activesync if it's running on Exchange 2010 or later.

    Posted via CB10
    Thanked by:
    LadyOfTheLAN (02-25-2013) 
  23. Chriz's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    269 Posts
    PIN
    PM me...
    #23  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oufc_gav View Post
    Chriz. It doesn't. BES10 has no mail/sync handling facility, it's all Activesync.
    Thank you for your response. Then its useless for private use...
  24. b121's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    549 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Not sure it its relevant, but when I once added my playbook to a client's email running exchange, it activated BB balance. I don't believe I was on BES, but rather active sync. I could be mistaken, but that's what I thought .
    7250 -> 8703e -> 9530 -> 9550 -> 9650 -> 9930 -> PlayBook -> Z10 -> Z30
  25. LadyOfTheLAN's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    166 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b121 View Post
    Not sure it its relevant, but when I once added my playbook to a client's email running exchange, it activated BB balance. I don't believe I was on BES, but rather active sync. I could be mistaken, but that's what I thought .
    You only get balance if the email account was added to the bes10. Maybe you added yourself as admin then connected to your mailbox in their exchange organization ?? All email connections are active sync now.

    BesAdmin Z10 User
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bes/bis vs activesync email
    By dfb8085 in forum Rumored Devices
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-01-2012, 07:50 AM
  2. BES VS Activesync on live policy update
    By ahsanq in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 06:27 AM
  3. BES vs Activesync - Why does BES cost so much more?
    By RichTJ99 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-17-2009, 11:13 AM
  4. BES vs ActiveSync
    By StuartV in forum Other Platforms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-26-2009, 04:54 PM
  5. BES vs. ActiveSync - Enterprise Standpoint
    By weemdog in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 02:02 PM

Posting Permissions