I have a Z30 that I've been using for two years now, got it in November 2013 through Bell. This week, I noticed that the original Passport price went down to $99 for a 2 year term, down from $249.99 just last week! Plus I had a $50 credit from Bell, so figured, it's a steal, let's try the Passport! Picked up the Passport two days ago. I used to use a Bold 9700 and the physical keyboard was nice returning to.

While the Passport is an amazing device, I can't help but wonder if I should go back to my trusty Z30. The Z30 virtual keyboard was lightning fast to type on, and it was easy to use one-handed. The Passport I am typing this on now feels great to push the physical keys, but typing speed is nowhere near the Z30. Passport is virtually impossible to use one-handed as well. I'm still testing out the battery though, and today will be my first day trying out the device for work to see how the battery lasts. I'm trying to keep the Passport use below the 50MB data use and 30 minute talk time to keep it returnable, just in case.

To make a long story short, has anyone gone from the Z30, to the Passport, and then back to the Z30? If so, what were your reasons? Will the Passport's physical keyboard get easier with time?

Posted via CB10
    08-20-15 07:57 AM
    That's the olderst BB10 keyboard argument out there and pretty much sums up to:
    Virtual BB10 keyboard >> speed
    Physical BB10 keyboard >> accuracy

They also said the original Passport's keyboard needs some "breaking in" and keys do get easier to press after some use (Silver edition comes 'tamed' already).

Keep using it, I'm sure you'll come around to which device you prever!
    08-20-15 09:36 AM