Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 48
Like Tree9Likes
  1. Istiak Hossain's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Will BlackBerry Z30 get android update?

    Will the Blackberry Z30 will get the android os update like BlackBerry PRIV os powered by android???? Sry for the bad english.
  2. Dunt Dunt Dunt's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    7,662 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,744 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #2  

    Default

    All signs point to.... NO.

    Been no indication that any legacy devices will be upgraded (or downgraded) to Android.
    ssbtech likes this.
  3. Istiak Hossain's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Any way to use custom android rom on blackberry device??? Some apps need google play service to run. But i cant run google play service on my Z30.

    Posted via the CrackBerry App for Android
  4. thurask's Avatar

    Posts
    17,884 Posts
    Global Posts
    17,960 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Istiak Hossain View Post
    Any way to use custom android rom on blackberry device??? Some apps need google play service to run. But i cant run google play service on my Z30.

    Posted via the CrackBerry App for Android
    Unless there's custom ROMs for the Priv (doubtful), then no.

    Posted via CB10
  5. zerik1's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Istiak Hossain View Post
    Any way to use custom android rom on blackberry device??? Some apps need google play service to run. But i cant run google play service on my Z30.

    Posted via the CrackBerry App for Android
    See this page : Cobalt's official Google Apps landing page

    Posted via CB10
  6. Asvertus's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    453 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #6  

    Default

    I hope NOT.

    Posted via my Z30 (10.3.2.2639)
  7. bobby1966's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    381 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #7  

    Default

    No.

    Posted via CB10
  8. rjkolo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,014 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,022 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #8  

    Default

    No...simply...no

    Posted via CB10
  9. deremi's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,047 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #9  

    Default

    Yes it will. It will get windows 10 as well. Also sailfish and ubuntu too soon.

    -says Nobody.
  10. rambo47's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    977 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,009 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deremi View Post
    Yes it will. It will get windows 10 as well. Also sailfish and ubuntu too soon.

    -says Nobody.
    Sailfish is an OS I'd love to try. "Security Trough Obscurity." Unfortunately Jolla phones are euro-GSM only.
  11. buckwylder's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    2,702 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PIN
    27EE1588
    #11  

    Default

    No.

    Posted via CB10
  12. paulwallace1234's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,768 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,813 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rambo47 View Post
    Sailfish is an OS I'd love to try. "Security Trough Obscurity." Unfortunately Jolla phones are euro-GSM only.
    Intex are releasing a Sailfish device, not sure when though

    Posted via CB10 v....not telling
  13. non-vtec's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    668 Posts
    Global Posts
    670 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #13  

    Default

    According to BlackBerry. IOS version 9.5 is being released only to the z30 on November 6 at the same time the priv is coming out.

    Posted via CB10
  14. oldsoul123's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,350 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #14  

    Default

    The Z30 does not have the hardware or memory capacity to run Android. Android is a very resource heavy OS.

    Rock'n the awesome Z30 STA100-5 on 10.3.2.2474
    kbrant64 likes this.
  15. paulwallace1234's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,768 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,813 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oldsoul123 View Post
    The Z30 does not have the hardware or memory capacity to run Android. Android is a very resource heavy OS.

    Rock'n the awesome Z30 STA100-5 on 10.3.2.2474
    Android these days can run on 512MB crap phones, I'm sure the z30 would be fine

    Posted via CB10 v....not telling
  16. Ricktye's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    548 Posts
    Global Posts
    641 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #16  

    Default

    IMO if the current BB 10 devices don't get the option to change to the Android OS (And yes, it can be done IF BB has the will) then BB will no longer stand for Blackberry, but bye bye. Blackberry will not survive without the support of its' current customer base. We stood with them after the Playbook fiasco, but this time, I doubt if many will if they don't get some customer support from BB. Customer support from BB has been seriously missing for the past few years. Time for them to step up and support their customer base instead of the other way around. We'll see.....

    Quote Originally Posted by Istiak Hossain View Post
    Will the Blackberry Z30 will get the android os update like BlackBerry PRIV os powered by android???? Sry for the bad english.
    FF22 likes this.
  17. FF22's Avatar

    Posts
    37,100 Posts
    Global Posts
    37,545 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #17  

    Default

    As I posted in another Dreamer thread:

    I would speculate that it would take a ton of coding, if possible, for BB to provide an Android option for their older BB10 devices and that they can't financially afford to do that. So while you can hold out hope, it is unlikely to happen.
  18. oldsoul123's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,350 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulwallace1234 View Post
    Android these days can run on 512MB crap phones, I'm sure the z30 would be fine

    Posted via CB10 v....not telling
    Older Android versions maybe, and I suppose even the newest version, but without the processing and memory resources available, the experience would not be very good.

    Rock'n the awesome Z30 STA100-5 on 10.3.2.2474
    Zeratul57 likes this.
  19. paulwallace1234's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,768 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,813 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oldsoul123 View Post
    Older Android versions maybe, and I suppose even the newest version, but without the processing and memory resources available, the experience would not be very good.

    Rock'n the awesome Z30 STA100-5 on 10.3.2.2474
    1.7ghz Dual core, Quad core graphics and 2GB of RAM ain't that bad.
  20. jtultu's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    310 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulwallace1234 View Post
    Android these days can run on 512MB crap phones, I'm sure the z30 would be fine

    Posted via CB10 v....not telling
    'Minimal' requirements although expect severe lag on a 512MB RAM phone.

    Z30STA100-2/10.3.2.2789
  21. Ricktye's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    548 Posts
    Global Posts
    641 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by F2 View Post
    As I posted in another Dreamer thread:

    I would speculate that it would take a ton of coding, if possible, for BB to provide an Android option for their older BB10 devices and that they can't financially afford to do that. So while you can hold out hope, it is unlikely to happen.
    As sad as it will be, as I mentioned in my earlier reply, if they don't, I don't believe they'll survive. Their call this time. IMO, no support for the customers that supported BB and OS 10, there'll be nil support from those customers, for the most part, for BB.
  22. robin11's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    226 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #22  

    Default

    I doubt we will see an Android release for the Z30, but how about releasing a Priv that ran on Blackberry's OS 10? I believe it would be well received by Z30 users and I would jump on it immediately.
    kbrant64 likes this.
  23. Thunderbuck's Avatar

    Posts
    6,894 Posts
    Global Posts
    6,900 Global Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PIN
    2B6927F7
    #23  

    Default

    There have been a few videos showing Lollipop running on Passports, most likely company internal devices.

    It remains to be seen whether those phones had any differences in hardware from stock. I'd hope that they make this an option for Passport users, actually, and not just for my own sake; it would probably breathe a little life into Passport sales if they could be offered with a choice of OS.
  24. anon(9258456)'s Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    17 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #24  

    Default

    I doubt that BlackBerry would do it for Z30, instead of for passport or clasic, simply because of the lower volume of Z30. It's more than two years old !Unless it has the same platform as newer device, then, yes, by all means.

    Posted via CB10
  25. ganipooja's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    52 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #25  

    Default

    I m also expecting android os upgrade in z30...


    Posted via CB10
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-05-15, 12:28 PM
  2. Article: Android meets BlackBerry on the Priv
    By bbvj in forum BlackBerry Priv
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-03-15, 12:56 PM
  3. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-02-15, 11:34 PM
  4. My Blackberry Playbook
    By CrackBerry Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-02-15, 03:45 PM
  5. Sprint subscribers will soon be able to roam in Cuba
    By CrackBerry News in forum CrackBerry.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-15, 02:12 PM

Posting Permissions

";