Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By b1gbleu
  • 1 Post By Danzr1
  1. dtsolov's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    190 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BlackBerry z30 voice/mute key sensitivity

    Guys,

    Have a quick question - on my z30 voice/mute key is very sensitive - i.e it presses with almost no pressure on it. And it does not have a good "pressing" feedback. In other words it is very light to press and therefore sensitive.

    Is my z30 good and all of you have the same key and it's kind by design or should I replace it? Thanks.

    Posted via CB10
  2. b1gbleu's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    390 Posts
    Global Posts
    392 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I disabled the shortcut with the mute button press after about 5 minutes of handling it. It should've been recessed instead of raised. I almost want to put the Commuter case on it to stiffen it up.
    Z30 STA100-5 10.2.1.1925 T-Mobile
    Z10 STL100-3 OS 10.2.0.1791/1792 (backup)
    9850 Sprint - Internet Fast as a turtle - Old news
    8350i Nextel - Slow as a turtle - Ancient history
    miketko likes this.
  3. skilas's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    115 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I disabled it too. Found that the voice control kept being activated in my pocket.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30
  4. anon721037's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    32,937 Posts
    Global Posts
    33,207 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skilas View Post
    I disabled it too. Found that the voice control kept being activated in my pocket.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30
    How do you disable the voice control button.


    Posted from my Z30 with the CB10 App that doesn't work worth ****,
    Not here for a long time, but a good time would go over really big.
  5. skilas's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    115 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Go into settings, then voice control. There is an option to disable activating it with the mute button.

    On another note, is there anyway to activate voice control without using the mute button. I disabled this, but still accidently activate it sometimes. I tossed it onto the passenger's seat today and it turned on.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30
    Thanked by:
    Ben1232 (12-07-2013) 
  6. anon721037's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    32,937 Posts
    Global Posts
    33,207 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Just app it's self is the only other one I know.

    Posted from my Z30 on CB10
    Not here for a long time, but a good time would go over really big.
  7. Jtaylor1986's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    732 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Unfortunately this is a design issue. Overall this is the only area of the physical design where the phone is a step back from the Z10 as those buttons were nice.
  8. Danzr1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #8  

    Default Me too

    What was happening with my mute key was the back cover was pushing on it a bit so it was sort of half pushed in. It didn't click if you know what I mean. If you blew on it, it would go off! I shaved a bit of plastic from the inside of the cover and tad off the edge, not even noticeable, but the button has its full motion. Its still way too soft, but its a bit better. Helps if you use a case of some sort. I still find everytime I go to grab it I'm hitting that key and it will then unpause my music and start playing. Really annoying. I tried to compare to another in the store and the only thing they have it the Z10 and it feels much harder to press.
    Thanked by 2:
    Jtaylor1986 (12-06-2013),  theLynx (09-11-2014) 
    theLynx likes this.
  9. Jtaylor1986's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    732 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Danzr1 View Post
    What was happening with my mute key was the back cover was pushing on it a bit so it was sort of half pushed in. It didn't click if you know what I mean. If you blew on it, it would go off! I shaved a bit of plastic from the inside of the cover and tad off the edge, not even noticeable, but the button has its full motion. Its still way too soft, but its a bit better. Helps if you use a case of some sort. I still find everytime I go to grab it I'm hitting that key and it will then unpause my music and start playing. Really annoying. I tried to compare to another in the store and the only thing they have it the Z10 and it feels much harder to press.
    Exact same situation for me. I just popped the case slightly up around there and it is way better
  10. Ben1232's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,822 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skilas View Post
    Go into settings, then voice control. There is an option to disable activating it with the mute button.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30
    Thanks skilas that was getting on my nerves!

    Posted from my Z30 via the CB app
  11. Danzr1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    What about music? This button once hit unpauses music. Pretty annoying as well. At least with the voice command you had to hold it in. Also serves as the mute key when on calls.
  12. jhanks64's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    907 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    I've got an STA100-5 that is having the same problem. I'm trying to get it replaced by BlackBerry now.
  13. The Big Picture's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,854 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Get a case which covers the button. Thats what I did and its fine after.

    Signature - Google wants your info. What are you gonna do about it?
  14. jhanks64's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    907 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    I had tried a case, but the key was so sensitive that that actually made it worse. I bought a second STA100-5 and noticed that it wasn't as bad. I compared the back covers and did see a slight difference, like a change had been made. I ended up trimming the back cover where the mute key is and that helped.
    It's interesting to note that the Verizon STA100-3 is different and not an issue. The switch seems to be less sensitive.
  15. theLynx's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    It is design issue, but you always can fix. All you need is to shave a bit of plastic on back cover of your Z30.

    Posted via CB10
  16. Easy-G's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    472 Posts
    Global Posts
    489 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dtsolov View Post
    Guys,

    Have a quick question - on my z30 voice/mute key is very sensitive - i.e it presses with almost no pressure on it. And it does not have a good "pressing" feedback. In other words it is very light to press and therefore sensitive.

    Is my z30 good and all of you have the same key and it's kind by design or should I replace it? Thanks.

    Posted via CB10
    Hair trigger on mine as well. I think that's just the way it is.

    Posted via CB10 - Z30 STA100-5 10.3.0.296/.441

Similar Threads

  1. Z30 Battery Door
    By jackwaldon in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-20-2014, 10:59 AM
  2. BlackBerry ID Issues
    By rajdeep.malhi in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-05-2013, 08:39 AM
  3. Blackberry 8900 - Software Fail (HELP)
    By Salford in forum Mac Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2013, 04:42 PM
  4. BlackBerry advertising after bbm install?
    By jcarlos100 in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2013, 11:00 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2013, 07:55 PM

Posting Permissions