Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 50
Like Tree10Likes
  1. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Blackberry Maps Issue

    Hello everybody.

    I have the following problem with my new ( and fantastic !!! ) Z 30.

    Every time i use Maps and enter an address i receive the error " There is a problem communicating with the server. Try again later (2001).

    Maps are very important to me.

    Sounds familiar to anyone ?

    Software release 10.2.1.2102
    OS Version 10.2.1.2141
    BB Maps 10.2.1.778

    BB Services working fine ( i have the BB logo with wifi and 3/4 G)

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards
  2. WanShark69's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    257 Posts
    Global Posts
    258 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Could be a temporary server issue. Have you made sure your location services are ON

    Encrypted on my Z10
    Carl Estes likes this.
  3. Carl Estes's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,193 Posts
    PIN
    Sir Glaurung the Great
    #3  

    Default

    Haven't heard that one, I just checked my Maps and all went happy.
    You may want to delete the app and reinstall it from BB world.

    c
  4. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    Thanks for response.

    Sorry i forgot to mention.

    Yes location is on and this is happening for 3-4 days now.
    Also i have noticed that the location sign it is not dark grey , like when th bluetooth is on and connected
  5. irisiris's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Yeah happened yesterday. I started the maps set destination and went about 100 meters, made a turn around corner and similar message popped up. I check using browser, net was working.

    turned on off data..no use.
    closed map and reopened. still error.
    so put phone in airplane mode and then turned the radio back on. it worked.
    cause I dint know. using 10.2.1.2102
  6. bilalqwarriach's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    126 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    You guys are so lucky. BlackBerry Maps doesn't even work in my country.

    Posted via CB10
  7. Jimberry Storm's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    685 Posts
    Global Posts
    688 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    try hard reboot
  8. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimberry Storm View Post
    try hard reboot
    I have already unistal-instal maps.
    i will do a hard reboot also.

    The one with up-down volume right?
  9. Carl Estes's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,193 Posts
    PIN
    Sir Glaurung the Great
    #9  

    Default

    Yeppers...

    c
  10. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Hard reset didn't help..

    Still waiting for a response from the technical dept of my carrier
  11. root's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    133 Posts
    PIN
    333A9962
    #11  

    Default

    I'm having trouble like the OP as well... waiting for a resolution here. Please update the thread if you get an answer.

    Posted via CB10
    VZW Black Zed10 10.1.0.1627
    Oh...
    And please don't forget to hit the <Thanks> button right over here------------------>
    Or, the <Like> button next to it------------------------------------------------------------>
    If I have managed to help you, or have posted something that tickles your fancy.
  12. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default

    The tech dept of my carrier contacted me saying they will send the problem to Blackberry..

    It will take looooooong time....

    In the mean time the issue is getting stranger..
    I noticed that when i pin a point on the map everyhting is working good.
    But when i enter the same address ( !!!!!) in the search bar , i receive the same message :
    " There is a problem communicating with the server. Try again later (2001)....

    What the f....... is going on ??????????

    Beside that the phone is PHANTASTIC
  13. Oladeji01's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    I had a similar issue. My GPS, Maps and Location services suddenly stopped working on the carrier network, but worked on Wifi. Is that your issue? If it works on Wifi, it is most likely a carrier issue.
  14. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    Nope..
    same problem via carier data or wifi..
  15. PeterC4's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    243 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fpiliour View Post
    Hello everybody.

    I have the following problem with my new ( and fantastic !!! ) Z 30.

    Every time i use Maps and enter an address i receive the error " There is a problem communicating with the server. Try again later (2001).

    Maps are very important to me.

    Sounds familiar to anyone ?

    Software release 10.2.1.2102
    OS Version 10.2.1.2141
    BB Maps 10.2.1.778

    BB Services working fine ( i have the BB logo with wifi and 3/4 G)

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards
    Yes, this is familiar, for me it was an internal company issue set by an errant IT policy. I would get that message when in contacts I would tap the address for that contact and I would get "there is a problem communicating with the server". Ultimately got fixed after we brought it to the attention of our IT group. They had prevented our contacts from interacting with apps like BB Maps.
    Last edited by PeterC4; 05-06-2014 at 08:39 PM.
  16. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #16  

    Default

    Unfortunately this is my personal phone.

    No IT involved ....
  17. Marko M1's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    401 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Same problem here, either using WiFi or carrier data. Z10, STL100-2, 10.2.1.2141
    Blackberry 8100 -> 9700 -> 9900 -> Z10 STL100-2 + Nokia E71
    Somebody asked you bribe? Report them anonymously on BribeSpot.com
  18. gokulesh's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    428 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fpiliour View Post
    Unfortunately this is my personal phone.

    No IT involved ....
    Is it new? Or did you buy it used? If it is used and was used in an enterprise environment it may have same issue discussed above by PeterC4, an errant IT policy leftover.

    Did you do a device wipe? If not you should try that and if that does not work you might have to wait for BlackBerry.



    Posted via CB10
  19. leehardballer12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    746 Posts
    Global Posts
    782 Global Posts
    PIN
    333A6FE4
    #19  

    Default

    Maybe those having issues should state where they are from. Maybe it's an issue in a specific geographical area or carrier. Mine is working fine in the US on Verizon.

    Posted via CB10
  20. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #20  

    Default

    Hello everybody, thanks for the interest.

    The phone was new.

    I have done wipe, reload the software maps everything.
    Problem remaining

    Still waiting results from the contact between my carrier and blackberry.

    Greedings from Greece !
  21. moodyk13's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,576 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,585 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    I noticed your running an older OS. Has your carrier not pushed 10.2.1.2228 yet? I believe that was the latest os verizon pushed here in the USA.

    Many times bugs like you are describing are caused by am app that has been updated to run w/ the latest OS.

    If you are on the latest from your carrier try updating to the one I mentioned above. You can find it in the "leaked" section of the forums. And don't be afraid to load it b/c of the term "leak". It is an officially released os and solves many problems like you have described.

    I'm actually running the latest leaked os Z30STA100-3/10.2.1.3175 and it fixed third party app issues too!

    If you want to update and don't know how let me know I will help.

    Posted via CB10 - the app that may or may not exist
  22. rickkel's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    475 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    I had this same problem too with my Z30, the difference I had though is if I closed the map app and reopened it, the app worked okay. This happened on any location-dependent app such as Gas Buddy or Foursquare.

    The fix? I installed the most current leak (.3175); problem solved.

    Posted via CB10
    Verizon Z30 STA100-3 ~ PIN: 334E1CB2~ OS: 10.3.1.1154
    moodyk13 likes this.
  23. Simmo3K's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    I get an issue on 10.2.1.2141 where it tries to find my location then comes up with a red icon saying it basically failed. It seems to work on .3175 though but I flashed back to OEM factory version and have the problem again

    Posted via CB10
  24. Simmo3K's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    50 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Scratch that, I just tried it again and it works. Temperamental thing lol

    Posted via CB10
    moodyk13 likes this.
  25. fpiliour's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #25  

    Default

    Hmmm..

    the newset soft from the carrier is 2102.

    When i go back home i ''ll try the 2128.

    Hope this helps, even i woult like to wait an answer from BB.
    We have send them the report taken from phone.

    Thanks for the tip
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry Z3 First Review
    By maxell in forum BlackBerry Z3
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-08-2014, 06:30 PM
  2. Twitter for BlackBerry updated, adds draft support, photo enhancements, and more!
    By CrackBerry News in forum CrackBerry.com News Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-06-2014, 09:07 AM
  3. Hey BlackBerry, Want to become more mobile? Here's an idea
    By Jonathank in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2014, 04:15 PM
  4. Accessory Roundup - Enter to win a photography accessory for your BlackBerry!
    By CrackBerry News in forum CrackBerry.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2014, 01:40 PM

Posting Permissions