Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 20 of 20
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Core_Frequency
  1. mewanty's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Will an unlocked STL100-3 RFK121LW be fully-functional on Bell / Telus / Rogers?

    Hi! I seen a lot of threads stating that an unlocked RFF91LW will work OK on Wind. But how about the other way around? IE will a RFK121LW from Wind work OK on Bell / Telus / Rogers? Has anyone tested this yet?

    As a world traveller who is out of Canada half the time, I'd rather be on Wind pre-paid while in Canada then drop a SIM from whatever country I'm in into my unlocked BB. I have a sneaky suspicion that the RFF91LW is simply a RFK121LW with HSPA 1700 locked-out, and future BB firmware updates will re-lock 1700.

    I want a RFK121LW because I'm concerned that if my suspicions above are true, there is a risk that future BB firmware updates would re-lock 1700..

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
  2. pels_17's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    258 Posts
    Global Posts
    263 Global Posts
    #2  
  3. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I take it my Z10STL100-2 won't work on Canadian carriers?
    Where can I purchase a sim-free, factory unlocked Z10STL100-3 RFK121LW in Canada?
  4. Cap_172R's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,395 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,410 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CJH_ View Post
    I take it my Z10STL100-2 won't work on Canadian carriers?
    Where can I purchase a sim-free, factory unlocked Z10STL100-3 RFK121LW in Canada?
    May only get 2G
  5. Cap_172R's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,395 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,410 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mewanty View Post
    Hi! I seen a lot of threads stating that an unlocked RFF91LW will work OK on Wind. But how about the other way around? IE will a RFK121LW from Wind work OK on Bell / Telus / Rogers? Has anyone tested this yet?

    As a world traveller who is out of Canada half the time, I'd rather be on Wind pre-paid while in Canada then drop a SIM from whatever country I'm in into my unlocked BB. I have a sneaky suspicion that the RFF91LW is simply a RFK121LW with HSPA 1700 locked-out, and future BB firmware updates will re-lock 1700.

    I want a RFK121LW because I'm concerned that if my suspicions above are true, there is a risk that future BB firmware updates would re-lock 1700..

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
    Yep, should work. Rogers uses 850/1900 (if i recall correctly - someone correct me if i'm wrong) so you should be good to go on Rogers!

    If you unlock the device, be it the RFK121LW or RFF91LW version, updates would not "re-lock" the frequency.
  6. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cap_172R View Post
    May only get 2G
    3G will work on some carriers, LTE won't.
    So, where can I buy the RFK121LW in Canada?

    Posted via CB10
  7. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mewanty View Post
    Hi! I seen a lot of threads stating that an unlocked RFF91LW will work OK on Wind. But how about the other way around? IE will a RFK121LW from Wind work OK on Bell / Telus / Rogers? Has anyone tested this yet?

    As a world traveller who is out of Canada half the time, I'd rather be on Wind pre-paid while in Canada then drop a SIM from whatever country I'm in into my unlocked BB. I have a sneaky suspicion that the RFF91LW is simply a RFK121LW with HSPA 1700 locked-out, and future BB firmware updates will re-lock 1700.

    I want a RFK121LW because I'm concerned that if my suspicions above are true, there is a risk that future BB firmware updates would re-lock 1700..

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
    According to my friend, the RFF91LW doesn't have a radio capable of HSPA 1700.

    Posted via CB10
  8. nhanken's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,612 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    Well my Z10 is RFF91LW, unlocked and I'm using it on WindMobile so there you go =)

    Quote Originally Posted by CJH_ View Post
    According to my friend, the RFF91LW doesn't have a radio capable of HSPA 1700.

    Posted via CB10


    Posted via CB10
  9. Cap_172R's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,395 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,410 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CJH_ View Post
    3G will work on some carriers, LTE won't.
    So, where can I buy the RFK121LW in Canada?

    Posted via CB10
    Yeah, i agree 3G for some, 2G for sure though. Wind users have reported this is the version they are using.
  10. Core_Frequency's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    305 Posts
    PIN
    no
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CJH_ View Post
    According to my friend, the RFF91LW doesn't have a radio capable of HSPA 1700.

    Posted via CB10
    Show your friend this:

    Will an unlocked STL100-3 RFK121LW be fully-functional on Bell / Telus / Rogers?-screen-shot-2013-03-20-7.19.32-pm.png

    That is listed here on BB's website about the STL100-3 (RFK121LW and RFF91LW). It's on the last page BTW

    You just need to get the RFF91LW sim unlocked and then they are both the same exact phone. (DCS and UMTS = HSPA+ / aka 3G/ 3.5G)

    Oh and you should get LTE as well since they also have the same LTE frequencies
    Thanked by:
    bombastic (07-11-2013) 
    pels_17 likes this.
  11. modifier's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    275 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Core_Frequency View Post
    (DCS and UMTS = HSPA+ / aka 3G/ 3.5G)
    as mentioned in this post, DCS isn't used in north america and the "DCS" mentioned in blackberry's specs isn't DC-HSDPA. . just want to clear that up.
  12. Core_Frequency's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    305 Posts
    PIN
    no
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by modifier View Post
    as mentioned in this post, DCS isn't used in north america and the "DCS" mentioned in blackberry's specs isn't DC-HSDPA. . just want to clear that up.


    Thanks for pointing that out

    But I was under the impression that AWS needs both 1700 and 2100 to operate correctly. Still don't understand why that people would get 3G in the same area where people with them that have iPhones only get EDGE


    ***I just noticed that I actually responded to the thread you linked as well.***
  13. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Core_Frequency View Post
    Show your friend this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 7.19.32 PM.png 
Views:	591 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	142897

    That is listed here on BB's website about the STL100-3 (RFK121LW and RFF91LW). It's on the last page BTW

    You just need to get the RFF91LW sim unlocked and then they are both the same exact phone. (DCS and UMTS = HSPA+ / aka 3G/ 3.5G)

    Oh and you should get LTE as well since they also have the same LTE frequencies
    I thought the RFK121LW would be the better option?
    How can I ensure I get the model I want?

    Posted via CB10
    Last edited by CJH_; 03-22-2013 at 01:37 PM.
  14. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nhanken View Post
    Well my Z10 is RFF91LW, unlocked and I'm using it on WindMobile so there you go =)





    Posted via CB10
    Pretty awesome.

    Posted via CB10
  15. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Core_Frequency View Post
    Show your friend this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 7.19.32 PM.png 
Views:	591 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	142897

    That is listed here on BB's website about the STL100-3 (RFK121LW and RFF91LW). It's on the last page BTW

    You just need to get the RFF91LW sim unlocked and then they are both the same exact phone. (DCS and UMTS = HSPA+ / aka 3G/ 3.5G)

    Oh and you should get LTE as well since they also have the same LTE frequencies
    Hang on, reading that my friend WAS correct, the RFF91LW doesn't have HSPA+ 1700 but the RFK121LW does. Strange how BlackBerry class HSPA+ 0/850 as one band but everyone else classes it as two.

    Posted via CB10
  16. Craig Tewsley's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    42 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    I have put a Rogers and telus sim in my unlocked wind 121 and both carriers work fine. Neither sim gave me lte but they were both sims out of iPhone 4s' so neither was an lte provisioned sim. Both showed me lte on the network choices though.

    Wind rocks for unlocking. 10 bucks for the unlock. Took a few days for them to get me the code but all good in the end.

    Posted via CB10
  17. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig Tewsley View Post
    I have put a Rogers and telus sim in my unlocked wind 121 and both carriers work fine. Neither sim gave me lte but they were both sims out of iPhone 4s' so neither was an lte provisioned sim. Both showed me lte on the network choices though.

    Wind rocks for unlocking. 10 bucks for the unlock. Took a few days for them to get me the code but all good in the end.

    Posted via CB10
    Which model do Wind sell? Is it the RFF91LW or RFK121LW?
    Thanks.

    Posted via CB10
  18. Craig Tewsley's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    42 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    In case you missed it in my original post the one I was sold was the 121LW great phone IMHO.

    Posted via CB10
  19. Pete The Penguin's Avatar
    Resident CrackBerry Wizard

    Posts
    15,298 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,351 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig Tewsley View Post
    In case you missed it in my original post the one I was sold was the 121LW great phone IMHO.

    Posted via CB10
    Looks like I buy from Wind, if/when I move to Canada. Thanks.

    Posted via CB10
  20. Core_Frequency's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    305 Posts
    PIN
    no
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CJH_ View Post
    Hang on, reading that my friend WAS correct, the RFF91LW doesn't have HSPA+ 1700 but the RFK121LW does. Strange how BlackBerry class HSPA+ 0/850 as one band but everyone else classes it as two.

    Posted via CB10
    Not if my AWS only signal booster from T-Mobile has anything to say about it.

    My brother's iphone 5 isn't affected by it and it doesn't improve his signal (still on edge or no signal at all) while it gives my 91LW FULL 4G... just waiting on TMO to light up LTE in my area and I'll be set.


    But yeah according to that DCS isn't what I thought it was... my mistake on that one... didn't want to mislead you.

    If you guys want pics let me know... not sure how I'll take a pic of it though... any suggestions?

    Posted via CB10

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 03:47 PM
  2. Will an unlocked T-mobile blackberry 9700 work on Roger's 3g network?
    By RyanD7 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 12:40 PM
  3. Will an unlocked T-Mobile Curve work fully on Vodafone ?
    By bestgarethever in forum BlackBerry Curve 8900
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 09:40 AM
  4. Unlocked Bold fully functional on VZW?
    By AddictedRN2B in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 10:21 PM
  5. Will an unlocked 8830 work in Mexico?
    By bwphoto in forum BlackBerry 8830 WE
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2008, 05:31 PM

Posting Permissions