Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. cliflyn's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Why can't we edit apn name

    Just got back from the USA for the first time with my Z10
    I use a roam mobility sim card when traveling to the USA .
    The voice and text worked great but the data did not work because the apn can not be changed on a Z10
    Why did BlackBerry Grey out the apn so we can't edit it?
    The sim card worked great in a iPad all I needed to do was change the apn to roam
    Any thoughts on this or ways to get around this problem



    Posted via CB10
  2. Morten's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,183 Posts
    PIN
    ask nicely
    #2  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cliflyn View Post
    Just got back from the USA for the first time with my Z10
    I use a roam mobility sim card when traveling to the USA .
    The voice and text worked great but the data did not work because the apn can not be changed on a Z10
    Why did BlackBerry Grey out the apn so we can't edit it?
    The sim card worked great in a iPad all I needed to do was change the apn to roam
    Any thoughts on this or ways to get around this problem
    This is not done by BlackBerry - this is your carrier who controls...
    It seems as if some carriers who are not yet "ready" for BB10, they "see" that you use a BB device and automatically route you in their system.
    A new software update which your carrier supports might help, but you will have to contact them to get the info...
  3. cliflyn's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    I not so sure it is the carrier!
    Because the apn is greyed out no matter what sim card is installed
    And both the Bell sim and the roam mobility sim work in a iPad

    Posted via CB10
  4. Morten's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,183 Posts
    PIN
    ask nicely
    #4  

    Default

    it is the combination of OS version and carrier support
  5. nmonbb's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    130 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    i can edit the apn name...but how does that help? Does it affect data usage? What should i put there instead of the carrier name?
  6. scorepion's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    364 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    I also can edit the apn... bought a unlocked z10 from unlocked-mobiles in the uk... i'm in Belgium on the base network and I had to put in the apn myself and thus can change it if needed (not that i would know of any reason to?)
  7. Morten's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,183 Posts
    PIN
    ask nicely
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nmonbb View Post
    i can edit the apn name...but how does that help? Does it affect data usage? What should i put there instead of the carrier name?
    Each carrier can specify different APN settings - to allow for routing of services in their system. The only place to find the correct APN that will allow your BB device the correct dataservice, is your carrier.
  8. nmonbb's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    130 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    i can edit the APN. there is no username and password.

Similar Threads

  1. Why can't we get a flash player for blackberry's?
    By ScottAlan13 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 08:11 PM
  2. Why can't we do 1140 texts like other Verizon customers?
    By rousea24 in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 01:00 AM
  3. They have it...why can't WE! URC
    By Card Storm in forum Storm 3rd Party Apps
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 11:40 PM
  4. Why can't we get these for BB's?
    By Dispatcher35 in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 08:38 AM
  5. But WHY can't we 8320 users have a 4.5 update??
    By nrkelly in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-16-2008, 11:59 PM

Posting Permissions