Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 21 of 21
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By kolok
  1. kolok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    216 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default question on data usage Z10

    Quick question to anyone who knows:

    Will the Z10 (& other BB10 devices) still use data compression or will that become a thing of the past? With LTE data transfer will definitely be faster, but will data stream remain compressed or will the phone be like other "superphones" using regular data?

    Cheers!
    Thanked by:
    austriker (01-22-2013) 
    Novaone likes this.
  2. kolok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    216 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #2  

    Default

    Ooooooo-kay....

    Thx anyways
  3. Jonny-R's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    201 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    As far as I'm aware, this isn't yet clear, and we will have to wait to find out the definitive answers. It was confirmed that BIS is still being utilised, but to what extent is unknown. I'd imagine it would be used for push notifications with perhaps browsing data now skipping the system due to LTE? I'm only speculating.
    Thanked by:
    kolok (02-01-2013) 
  4. snaqvi91's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    192 Posts
    Global Posts
    695 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    It would be awesome if there was a choice between BIS and just regular TCP/IP. Using BIS in other countries when travelling gets complicated. Recently I've been travelling and my BlackBerry wont connect to BIS through wifi. So I have to use Kik instead.
  5. kolok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    216 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default Re: question on data usage Z10

    So any additional word on data compression and whether the Z10 and X10 (plus future bb10 devices) still use data compression, or will they suck regular data like android, iphone devices?
  6. rebroker2009's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,302 Posts
    #6  

    Default Compressed Data BB10

    Currently at a local mall and asked the compression question at a few cell stores. I am getting the impression that the new BB10 operating system will not be compressing data like it previously did. I hope they are wrong but I am now hearing it from more than one source. If you think about it, its a way for the providers to make more money so it makes sense. Hope this information turns out to be false but 10 more days til we know for sure. I also heard that there could be NEW promotional plans with new BB10 hardware so you might want to hold off on locking in to something else until the launch date! I know I will be waiting for sure.....If anyone knows any different, please do not hesitate to reply to this


    thanks in advance
  7. kill_9's Avatar
    Banned

    Posts
    5,168 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,169 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    [QUOTE=rebroker2009;7870957]I am getting the impression that the new BB10 operating system will not be compressing data like it previously did. I hope they are wrong but I am now hearing it from more than one source. If you think about it, its a way for the providers to make more money so it makes sense.QUOTE]

    In Canada, we get screwed for the data-capped 5GB data plans and there are no unlimited data plans from the major wireless carriers outside of TO.
  8. bluetroll's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,128 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,140 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    one of BlackBerrys competitive advantage IS data compression.

    hard to see BlackBerry drop that feature.
  9. EGerhardt's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    379 Posts
    PIN
    20EB1810
    #9  

    Default

    It's a tough question. Since there will still be BIS there presumably will be some degree of compression going on. Buuuuuut..

    It wouldn't surprise me to see them make the browser direct TCP/IP. Something that Craig said years ago on one of the podcasts was that compression isn't as helpful for the modern internet as you might think. Text you can compress, no worries. But text isn't using much of your data. Video and audio, you can't realistically compress much more than they already are. They will already be compressed as much as realistically possible on the other end, and BIS can't change that no matter how much it tries. So realistically, BIS can't really help you avoid hitting your data cap, since video and audio are the two big data-munchers. And the worst thing is that BIS slows down your browsing by a pretty noticeable degree. A BB takes longer to load pages because its taking extra hops to go via BIS, and while its only a couple of seconds, its why BBs feel less fluid and fast than competitors, even though its nothing to do with CPU or what have you. The data just takes logner to get there.

    For you guys who are burning through 5GB... How are you managing that? Seriously. What do you do that is pulling that much data?
  10. 416to604's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    590 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EGerhardt View Post
    For you guys who are burning through 5GB... How are you managing that? Seriously. What do you do that is pulling that much data?
    I just hit 5.2GB last month on my 9900's 6GB plan. I stream radio from tunein (and nobex on my pb) and tether with my playbook on a daily basis. I am also concerned about data compression on bb10.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails question on data usage Z10-munch_2013_01_10_080643.png  
    Z10 - Playbook 32GB
  11. EGerhardt's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    379 Posts
    PIN
    20EB1810
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 416to604 View Post
    I just hit 5.2GB last month on my 9900's 6GB plan. I stream radio from tunein (and nobex on my pb) and tether with my playbook on a daily basis. I am also concerned about data compression on bb10.
    It's almost impressive that you can use that much data. I know people have done it by doing stupid things on Android (did you know there's bit-torrent clients for android phones?) but never met someone who has used that much on a BB. I don't really know what to suggest. I don't think that you are benefitting from compression at the moment because BIS simply can't down-scale audio in real time like that, so I wouldn't imagine you'll be using more data on BB10 regardless of what happens with BIS.

    If it makes you feel any better, over here 2GB is the most you'll get. EE offer 3, 5 and 8 GB plans, but at EXTREME cost. At the moment I'm happily surviving on 500mb of data but I carry all my media around with me so its just surfing that touches my data cap. My commute takes me through tunnel after tunnel then onto the underground, so streaming isn't really an option.
  12. 416to604's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    590 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EGerhardt View Post
    It's almost impressive that you can use that much data. I know people have done it by doing stupid things on Android (did you know there's bit-torrent clients for android phones?) but never met someone who has used that much on a BB. I don't really know what to suggest. I don't think that you are benefitting from compression at the moment because BIS simply can't down-scale audio in real time like that, so I wouldn't imagine you'll be using more data on BB10 regardless of what happens with BIS.

    If it makes you feel any better, over here 2GB is the most you'll get. EE offer 3, 5 and 8 GB plans, but at EXTREME cost. At the moment I'm happily surviving on 500mb of data but I carry all my media around with me so its just surfing that touches my data cap. My commute takes me through tunnel after tunnel then onto the underground, so streaming isn't really an option.
    good to know the streamed data i'm using right now isn't compressed. i shouldnt have to worry about it being any different on BB10 then. what is this EXTREME cost you speak of? i thought canadians have the worst value for satellite/tv/cellular/landline service in the world. each month I pay $30 for my 6GB of data on top of $40 for the other stuff in my plan.
    Z10 - Playbook 32GB
  13. hennesseystealth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,080 Posts
    PIN
    HEAD
    #13  

    Default

    An option in the US is Solavei for $49/mo, no contract, and unlimited LTE everything...of course, that means paying for an unlocked phone.
  14. sarahrich's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    254 Posts
    PIN
    2674F37B
    #14  

    Default

    My z10 is burning through the data I get a month at a ugly rate any word on any warning apps for usage or something that will help me manage my data?
    Curve 9300 > Torch 9800 > BlackBerry Z10
  15. kolok's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    212 Posts
    Global Posts
    216 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #15  

    Default Re: question on data usage Z10

    Quote Originally Posted by sarahrich View Post
    My z10 is burning through the data I get a month at a ugly rate any word on any warning apps for usage or something that will help me manage my data?
    seriously? is this just regular browsing or streaming something?
  16. xtremesniper's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    374 Posts
    Global Posts
    388 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 416to604 View Post
    I just hit 5.2GB last month on my 9900's 6GB plan. I stream radio from tunein (and nobex on my pb) and tether with my playbook on a daily basis. I am also concerned about data compression on bb10.
    Well music is not necessarily compressible so BIS or not, you'd get the same amount of data usage for things like TuneIn or Nobex. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty confident in that.
  17. guygardner73's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,236 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,240 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kolok View Post
    Quick question to anyone who knows:

    Will the Z10 (& other BB10 devices) still use data compression or will that become a thing of the past? With LTE data transfer will definitely be faster, but will data stream remain compressed or will the phone be like other "superphones" using regular data?



    Cheers!
    Regular data. You can kiss goodbye to compression. Faster browser as a result though. It's faster than iPhone by quite a bit. The main advantage is that if you're a user of another type of smartphone and are halfway through your contract and you happen to have the pennies to buy a sim free BB10 device, you can just switch sims and you're ready to rock and of course vice versa.
  18. mrskycar's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    741 Posts
    Global Posts
    847 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default Re: question on data usage Z10

    Does anyone know if the carriers are counting BBM voice on network as data? I am guessing so.
  19. xtremesniper's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    374 Posts
    Global Posts
    388 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrskycar View Post
    Does anyone know if the carriers are counting BBM voice on network as data? I am guessing so.
    Yeah if you do a BBM call over carrier network, it's going to count as data for sure. WiFi would be a way of avoiding that. But no one knows thus far how much data you'd consume per minute of usage.
  20. bellsey102's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    BBM video chat you are talking around 100mb per 10-15minutes of chatting
  21. gordco's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    I can't figure out why Koodo shows I'm up to 200 Mbs usage, when my Z10 is set to only download with wifi. I almost use wifi exclusively, both at work and at home. Any ideas why I'm getting this high usage would be appreciated.

Similar Threads

  1. Question concerning data usage
    By flipper11 in forum Bell Canada
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 08:40 PM
  2. Quick question on Data vs Wifi
    By dx169 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 06:13 PM
  3. Question on Bolt usage
    By BLLotman in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 02:18 AM
  4. Newb Questions RE: Data usage
    By br3ds0x in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 06:55 PM
  5. New BB user question on data plan
    By shadysprings in forum Introductions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-06-2008, 12:55 PM

Posting Permissions