Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31
  1. veggieto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Outlook "Protocol layer was unable to send message"

    Just got a Z10 from my work and IT set up all the Outlook settings for me and other employees. Everyone's is working fine. I can receive work email fine, but when I try to send I get an error "Protocol Layer was unable to send message" Even my IT guys are stumped.

    Anyone have any advice?
  2. Boots4283's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    248 Posts
    Global Posts
    252 Global Posts
    PIN
    22F95520
    #2  

    Default

    What email system are you using? Exchange I'm guessing. What version. Have you called BlackBerry/Carrier?
  3. veggieto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boots4283 View Post
    What email system are you using? Exchange I'm guessing. What version. Have you called BlackBerry/Carrier?
    Exchange, I believe 2007. Haven't called my carrier yet since it works for other employees, I figured it was something other than a carrier issue.
  4. mtbdave's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    120 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Funny, I had 2 emails bounced back with a similar error. I am using imap. I have never had this happen before. I also had 2 emails that I couldn't reply to, they would show the circle with the line through it. If I created a new email with those same addresses I could send them.

    Posted via CB10
  5. veggieto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtbdave View Post
    Funny, I had 2 emails bounced back with a similar error. I am using imap. I have never had this happen before. I also had 2 emails that I couldn't reply to, they would show the circle with the line through it. If I created a new email with those same addresses I could send them.

    Posted via CB10
    I get the same red circle. But it happens whether it's a reply or a newly composed email. Just can't send at all, but receiving is fine.
  6. stevejb's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    152 Posts
    Global Posts
    155 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    If you open the failed message there's a 'resend' button on the bottom menu.

    When I have this error it seems to be in a bad reception area. I wait for a couple of minutes, hit the 'resend' and it has always then sent successfully.

    S

    Posted via CB10, using Z10, running BB10
    8700 -> 8800 -> 9700 -> 9800 -> 9900 -> Z10
    PlayBook 16gb
  7. veggieto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stevejb View Post
    If you open the failed message there's a 'resend' button on the bottom menu.

    When I have this error it seems to be in a bad reception area. I wait for a couple of minutes, hit the 'resend' and it has always then sent successfully.

    S

    Posted via CB10, using Z10, running BB10
    Tried that too. I can send from other email accounts I have set up on the phone like gmail, just not my work exchange account.
  8. toujours_frais's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    313 Posts
    Global Posts
    433 Global Posts
    #8  

    Default

    It's still a new OS, give it some time, BB will surely release a fix
  9. samab's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,294 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,063 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Probably some firewall setting preventing data traffic from a specific port.
  10. veggieto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samab View Post
    Probably some firewall setting preventing data traffic from a specific port.
    Possibly, and I'll have my IT guys troubleshoot some more when I'm back in the office. I'm out of town for the next week, so in the mean time I have my work emails forwarded to a gmail account to make it easier to respond.
  11. tceagle's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    78 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    There is a bug in the latest OS update that has broken sending email via Authenticated SMTP (Port 587). It has been affecting TELUS clients and apparently some Bell clients. It might be related to your issue. The thread is here:
    Updated Telus Z10 - Now POP email does not work
  12. mtbdave's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    120 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    This is really ticking me off!!

    Posted via CB10
  13. mtbdave's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    120 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Mine only occurs when replying to certain email addresses. Only when replying, it's driving me crazy. Is anyone else experiencing this?

    Posted via CB10
  14. mtbdave's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    120 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    If I have the same person email me in plain text or rich text, I can reply to those emails, if they send in html, I can't reply. They won't go.

    Posted via CB10
  15. MarlboroM's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    126 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    I get it too with just simple POP email, no Exchange.

    It's only if I reply to/forward from certain emails. I can email them with a new message fine!
  16. smoothrunnings's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,361 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,362 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by veggieto View Post
    Just got a Z10 from my work and IT set up all the Outlook settings for me and other employees. Everyone's is working fine. I can receive work email fine, but when I try to send I get an error "Protocol Layer was unable to send message" Even my IT guys are stumped.

    Anyone have any advice?
    Speak with your IT.

    Likely if there are other Z10 users in your environment that aren't having problems sending and recieving email that there is a problem with your mailbox and they might have rebuild it or move it from one database to another and back to checked it for corruption.
  17. smoothrunnings's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,361 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,362 Global Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tceagle View Post
    There is a bug in the latest OS update that has broken sending email via Authenticated SMTP (Port 587). It has been affecting TELUS clients and apparently some Bell clients. It might be related to your issue. The thread is here:
    Updated Telus Z10 - Now POP email does not work
    Exchange doesn't use SMTP or POP, it uses ActiveSync.
  18. bobauckland's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,216 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,217 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    I had this happen today, sending emails via Gmail, and got this message and mail refused to send.
    I was having a lot of trouble with copying and pasting email addresses in BB10, and two other posters suggested a fix.
    Generally works, but I found if I copy a lot of emails from a list, and then paste it, it all shows up as one large email ignoring the commas, and then refuses to send, unless you copy and paste each individual email separately.
    Got it done in the end but was a huge headache, basically the Z10 doesn't like something about the format of certain emails.
  19. wally's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    108 Posts
    Global Posts
    122 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    Happened to me once when i tried to reply through my exchange account. However i was able to send from my live.com account. resetting the phone cured it.
  20. bobauckland's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,216 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,217 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wally View Post
    Happened to me once when i tried to reply through my exchange account. However i was able to send from my live.com account. resetting the phone cured it.
    I ended up fiddling around and it went eventually.
    Was on the verge of heading for the comp, and it took about 30 mins total for something I would have managed in about 2 mins on my 9900.
  21. Ali Malik1's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    71 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Has anyone had any success with this?

    For some reason no matter what port I try or settings I can't get it to work.

    If I use gmail or hotmail it works fine as soon as I use an imap e-mail address and try to send an e-mail with attachment it comes back with protocol layer was unable to send a message

    However normal plain text emails work fine.
  22. KFSKR's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    I have the similar problems. Only replies seem to be affected by the "protocol layer ..." error. New messages can be sent without any problems other accounts work fine with the same message. To try that, I forwarded the message from my computer to the my other mail account. Opening and forwarding that message on the other account on my blackberry worked fine.

    When replying to a message it's not possible to change the account it is sent from, is it?
  23. reversekcid's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    94 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    New mailsl with attachments are also affected.

    Posted via CB10
  24. knnth's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    Hey there, have u found a solution to this problem?
    I'm having the same problem, cant send with the same protocol layer message.
    Not using exchange, just a normal pop3 account, and smartermail ..
  25. maddmikk's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    I had this issue and this is the answer:

    The issue is in the web.config file found in Program files>Microsoft>ExchangeServer>V14>ClentAccess>Syn c.

    Look for this line:

    <httpRuntime maxRequestLength="110240"/>

    This was set at 10240

    You need to restart server.

    Let me know if this works for you
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. unable to send messages with BB after few days???!!
    By amir.logico in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 12:06 AM
  2. Unable to send emails
    By Tradewalker in forum Business Users
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 01:14 PM
  3. Desktop email program was unable to submit message
    By fewe in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2009, 07:45 AM
  4. unable to send messages due to security groups in BES
    By harbingerofdoom in forum BlackBerry Administrators
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2008, 08:11 AM
  5. Help! Unable to send pic thru email on 8310
    By chriswenk in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 01:03 AM

Posting Permissions