Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. anishrao's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Losing BIS Connection

    For some reason if I am on WIFI for a long time and then move out of a WIFI area, my phone cannot recover to BIS. I can't even force a connection by switching on and off the data service or network connection altogether. I have to restart the device to get a BIS connection. Is anyone else experiencing this problem? And is there a way to solve this without restarting the phone?
  2. sportline's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,109 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    It does takes time for data connection to go active after wifi or after losing signal. Most probably due to the radio, not yet updated by carriers.

    Posted via CB10
  3. Bold_until_Hybrid_Comes's Avatar
    Waterloo's Finest

    Posts
    5,609 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,638 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    What does the signal show when you leave the wifi
  4. anishrao's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    11 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    i can only see 'h' or 'e' or 'g' instead of 'H' or 'E' or 'G' and the BB logo.
  5. rattlesnak3's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Surprisingly, I'm having a similar issue but it is only slightly different.

    For me, whenever I connect to WiFi my BlackBerry services disconnect. The BlackBerry logo disappears from the top and my BBM doesn't work anymore. All the other apps that need internet work fine as it uses the WiFi but that is about it. For me to regain connectivity to BBM, I have to disconnect WiFi and the logo re-appears in a bit confirming that my BBM is working again now.

    I've emailed my carrier regarding the same and it will be interesting to see their reply to this but this bit of an issue has left me puzzled. Not suffering too much right now because I've got an unlimited package but there has to be a reason why the phone is doing this.

    Oh and this has happened more than once, that is when I decided to contact them.

Similar Threads

  1. Losing BIS connection constantly... (AT&T)
    By JeePak in forum BlackBerry Torch 9800
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 09:44 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 06:33 PM
  3. reload my data, lose my BIS connection
    By pete101 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 05:47 PM
  4. Lost Bis Connection After Transfering Data From Pearl To Curve
    By Laurlaur576 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 02:35 AM
  5. Headset losing BT connection
    By patrick.waugh in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-26-2008, 09:10 PM

Posting Permissions